Love and Friendship, Three Sisters, and A Collection of Letters by Jane Austen

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Although the four novels published in her lifetime were well-received, much of Jane Austen's notoriety came about after her death. Her decision to publish anonymously was a standard for women in the early 19th Century, and furnished one of the most beloved writers in English literature little personal acclaim during her life. The stories in this collection are some of Austen's earliest writings, originally compiled by the author in her three-volume set, "Juvenilia". Although the charm of these pieces may not be appreciated by all Austen enthusiasts, they are an invaluable glimpse into the early talent of Austen, and her development as a poet, satirist, playwright and novelist. This edition has corrected some of the author's intentional misspellings for ease of the modern reader, in particular the word "Freindship" in Love and Friendship, however it should be noted that her quaint or misspellings and odd capitalizations were intended as a parody of the Romantic novels Austen read as a child.

About Jane Austen

See more books from this Author
One of England’s most beloved authors, Jane Austen wrote such classic novels as Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma, and Northanger Abbey. Published anonymously during her life, Austen’s work was renowned for its realism, humour, and commentary on English social rites and society at the time. Austen’s writing was supported by her family, particularly by her brother, Henry, and sister, Cassandra, who is believed to have destroyed, at Austen’s request, her personal correspondence after Austen’s death in 1817. Austen’s authorship was revealed by her nephew in A Memoir of Jane Austen, published in 1869, and the literary value of her work has since been recognized by scholars around the world.
Published March 31, 2011 by 62 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review