Lovers Crossing by James C. Mitchell

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



After a confrontation with a group of smugglers on the border leaves him nearly dead, Agent Brinker turns in his INS badge and starts up a safer line of work as a private investigator. And now that he's aced a few open-and-shut missing child cases, Brinker thinks he has finally escaped the nightmare of Lovers Crossing. But when Brinker is approached by the wealthy Tucson businessman Mo Crain to investigate the brutal murder of his wife, trouble is close behind. Desperately short on leads, Brinker can't find anyone in Tucson with a motive to kill Mrs. Crain. And then an acquaintance of hers is found dead in the trunk of his car, showing Brinker that he's up against a cold-blooded murderer who isn't afraid to get his hands dirty.

As Brinker travels from border to border in search of answers, his investigation leads him back to the very place he swore never to return--the underbelly of Lovers Crossing. And this time, he may not get out alive.

In the tradition of Michael McGarrity, James C. Mitchell introduces a border detective who is as fully human as he is smart and tough.

About James C. Mitchell

See more books from this Author
James C. Mitchell has worked as a television journalist, a lawyer, and a college professor. He and his wife, children's author Marianne Mitchell, live in Tuscon, Arizona. This is his first novel.
Published July 19, 2012 by Minotaur Books. 304 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Lovers Crossing

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When everything seems to be squeaky clean, Brinker turns his attention to the 900 miles Mrs. Crain put on that new car in under a week, a clue that leads him back to the border, where Mrs. Crain volunteered at a kids’ shelter and Sanchez lurked nearby while a tart often sashayed into a neighborin...

| Read Full Review of Lovers Crossing

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Sandra seems to have had few enemies, but as Brinker's investigation proceeds, it seems that her death might be linked to a smuggling operation, and to Henry Sanchez, the corrupt INS agent that Brinker believes shot him.

| Read Full Review of Lovers Crossing

Reader Rating for Lovers Crossing

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review