Lucy in the Sky by Anonymous

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

Echoing the theme and structure of Go Ask Alice, this inelegant cautionary tale paints an appropriately horrific picture of addiction, but offers little insight beyond what is taught in drug education programs.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

A riveting first-person tale of addiction, in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Jay’s Journal.

The author of this diary began journaling on her sixteenth birthday. She lived in an upper middle class neighborhood in Santa Monica with her mom, dad, and Berkeley-bound older brother. She was a good girl, living a good life...but one party changed everything. One party, where she took one taste—and liked it. Really liked it.
Social drinking and drugging lead to more, faster, harder... She convinced herself that she was no different from anyone else who liked to party. But the evidence indicates otherwise: Soon she was she hanging out with an edgy crowd, blowing off school and everything she used to care about, all to find her next high.
But what goes up must come down, and everything—from her first swig, to her last breath—is chronicled in the diary she left behind.
 

About Anonymous

See more books from this Author
By Anonymous**The stories presented here were first published as "true stories" . . . at a time when it was necessary to hide the true identities of the women associated with these tales to avoid scandal. We have chosen to maintain the veil of the authors' anonymity to protect the innocent . . . and the not so innocent.The timeless love stories from True Romance and True Love live on.
 
Published May 1, 2012 by Simon Pulse. 289 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Lucy in the Sky
All: 5 | Positive: 3 | Negative: 2

Kirkus

Excellent
Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on Apr 15 2012

Both engrossing and titillating; readers curious about drugs and readers who wouldn't dream of touching them will find satisfaction here.

Read Full Review of Lucy in the Sky | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Below average
Reviewed by Publisher's Weekly on Mar 19 2012

Echoing the theme and structure of Go Ask Alice, this inelegant cautionary tale paints an appropriately horrific picture of addiction, but offers little insight beyond what is taught in drug education programs.

Read Full Review of Lucy in the Sky | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Wovenmyst

Excellent
Reviewed by Candace Hawkins on May 08 2012

Lucy in the Sky tells a story in which readers will feel the roller coaster waves of emotion. ... To experience Lucy in the Sky is to experience a darker side of YA realistic fiction.

Read Full Review of Lucy in the Sky

Young Adult Books

Below average
Reviewed by Pamela Thompson on Jul 19 2012

The publisher likens this novel to Go Ask Alice ... I'm sorry, but Go Ask Alice is the more tragic book, the more heartfelt book, the deeper narrative of the two ya novels.

Read Full Review of Lucy in the Sky

Bundles of Books!

Good
Reviewed by Sammi on Apr 18 2012

This story reminded me a lot of Crank by Ellen Hopkins, and I loved that book! Anyone who is a fan of Ellen Hopkins needs to read this book!

Read Full Review of Lucy in the Sky

Reader Rating for Lucy in the Sky
84%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 161 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

User Review

Jackie Changea 3 Apr 2013

got to read!

×