Lust and Other Stories by Susan Minot

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews




Twelve stories of women caught in the emotional turbulence of romance in Manhattan For the twelve narrators of Susan Minot’s breathtaking collection—artists and lawyers, teenagers and thirty-somethings—love in New York doesn’t come easy. And as they struggle to reconcile their yearnings for romance with their needs for independence, they face resistance to emotional commitment at every turn.  In intense snapshots of these women’s most intimate moments, Minot brings to life their dreams and disappointments, hopes and heartbreaks, and highlights the emotional fissures that divide women and men. This ebook features a new illustrated biography of Susan Minot, including artwork by the author and rare documents and photos from her personal collection.



About Susan Minot

See more books from this Author
Susan Minot, Novelist Susan Minot was born in Boston, Massachusetts and grew up in Manchester-by-the-Sea. She studied writing and painting at Brown University and received an MFA in writing from Columbia University. She published short stories in Grand Street and The New Yorker, which led to an offer for a novel. Minot has also been a Greenpeace activist, a carpenter and a bookseller. Minot's first novel, "Monkeys," took nine stories about the Vincent family and combined them to make up the semi-autobiographical novel. It won the Prix Femina Etranger in France in 1987. The Vincent's are a New England family of seven children, a Catholic mother and a Brahmin background father. The story covers twelve years of their lives and tells of a tragic accident that alters their lives. Her second novel, "Lust & Other Stories," is a collection about artists and journalists living in New York City. It examines the relations between men and women in their twenties and thirties, and the difficulty they have coming together and breaking apart. "Folly" takes place in Boston, during the 1920's to 1930's, and tells the story of a woman with a strict Brahmin background having the choice of a husband being the determining factor of her life. "Evening" is the story of Ann Lord on her deathbed. She relives a weekend love affair with Harris Arden, the greatest love of her life, in great detail, while her children stand by her believing her mind is blank.
Published October 26, 2010 by Open Road Media. 160 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Lust and Other Stories

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

As if Monkeys (1986) drained dry the reserves of her inspiration and the barrel hasn't had time to be replenished, Minor offers here a thin and mannered volume in search of the content to fill it.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of Lust and Other Stories

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Here it is always women who love too much and self-sufficient men who act like heels. ``After Minot's promising debut with Monkeys , the short stories in this slender collection are disappointingly on

| Read Full Review of Lust and Other Stories

Reader Rating for Lust and Other Stories

An aggregated and normalized score based on 16 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review