MFA by Jason Rapczynski
The Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...Rapczynski provides a complex picture of a self-absorbed underachiever pursuing a degree that he professes to disdain.
-Publishers Weekly


John is an alcoholic writer who drinks to keep writing and writes to keep drinking. While studying for his MFA at Emerson College, he records his day-to-day existence in the city of Boston, writes about his experiences in workshops and dive bars, and reads literary biographies. Of the seven American-born writers awarded the Nobel Prize, five were alcoholics, and he follows their staggered footsteps into a cycle of recurring situations, volatile relationships, and similarly disturbing encounters that threatens to push him over the edge. He might be gathering a wealth of material for his autobiographical thesis—but will he survive to actually complete the program?

Full of seedy sex scenes, rebellion, dysfunction, dark humor and self-destruction, MFA is a defining installment in the gritty genre of transgressive fiction.

“Rapczynski does it again with MFA: plunges us into the seedy underbelly—this time in the form of a young alcoholic whose drinking, sex life, and ambitions are equally promiscuous. In the tradition of Charles Bukowski, Jack Kerouac, and William Burroughs, in MFA the narrator rises above his narrative—sharp, witty, sad, and grimily real—so we can’t help but like and feel for him. Read it and weep.”

—Elizabeth Inness-Brown, author of Burning Marguerite

About Jason Rapczynski

See more books from this Author
Jason Rapczynski is a writer, rare book dealer, and one-time radio copywriter living near New Haven, Connecticut. He graduated from Saint Michael's College in 2001, earned his MFA in creative writing from Emerson College in 2005, and is a member of the Delta Sigma Epsilon National Scholastic Honor Society. He was born in 1978, and this is his first novel.
Published December 26, 2012 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. 593 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for MFA
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Apr 22 2013

...Rapczynski provides a complex picture of a self-absorbed underachiever pursuing a degree that he professes to disdain.

Read Full Review of MFA: The Novel | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for MFA

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Rachel Fowler

Rachel Fowler 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list