Mad Scientist Academy by Matthew McElligott
The Space Disaster

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Along with tucking in frequent factual asides about planetary conditions and other astronomical topics, McElligott closes with a summary infographic. Still, his large panels of comic art are well-stocked with sound effects and whooping alarms...
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, will want to join Dr. Cosmic’s class of clever monsters as they tackle gravity, comets, and many moons in the third book of the Mad Scientist Academy series.
 
When Dr. Cosmic’s class meets Commander Nova, the school astronomer, they know their next lesson will be out of this world!
 
With the help of Dr. Cosmic’s latest invention—a planetarium—the class must complete four challenges. Each time the planetarium shifts and the atmosphere changes, the students find themselves floating from planet to planet. They put their new magnetic antigravity belts and trusted handbooks to the test to figure out where in the solar system Dr. Cosmic’s invention has “sent” them—and how to land safely back on Earth.

"Young readers can only hope for this much excitement on their real field trips." —Kirkus Reviews

"[A] space adventure that young readers will pore over, learn from, and enjoy." —School Library Journal
 

About Matthew McElligott

See more books from this Author
MATTHEW McELLIGOTT is the author of several books for children, including Even Monsters Need Haircuts, The Lion’s Share, Absolutely Not, and Backbeard and the Birthday Suit. He teaches at Sage College and also visits elementary schools around the country.www.matthewmcelligott.comAuthor Location: Selkirk, NY
 
Published July 11, 2017 by Crown Books for Young Readers. 40 pages
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Mad Scientist Academy
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Mar 29 2017

Along with tucking in frequent factual asides about planetary conditions and other astronomical topics, McElligott closes with a summary infographic. Still, his large panels of comic art are well-stocked with sound effects and whooping alarms...

Read Full Review of Mad Scientist Academy: The Sp... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review
×