Maestro by John Gardner

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Kruger guards the life of a famous conductor with a shocking secret past
The Soviet Union barely outlasts Herbie Kruger. By the time the Berlin Wall comes crashing down—and the KGB security apparatus along with it—London’s shabbiest spy is living in happy retirement. Not even the prospect of wreaking havoc in a fractured Eastern Europe could lure Big Herbie back to the Secret Intelligence Service. But he’s willing to accept one more assignment—not for Her Majesty, not for his country, but for his love of classical music. The finest conductor the world has ever seen, Louis Passau is a ninety-year-old German Jew who, rumor has it, spent World War II working for the Nazis. Kruger has just begun investigating this wild accusation when an assassin targets the maestro. To keep Passau alive while he searches for the truth, Kruger takes him into hiding—and ultimately learns that, though he may conduct like an angel, Passau has got the devil inside.

About John Gardner

See more books from this Author
John Gardner, one of the authors of the well-known James Bond stories, was born in Northumberland, England on November 20, 1926. He attended Cambridge University and was a member of the Royal Marines. He became a journalist and a critic after leaving the service. Gardner's first novel was "The Liquidator" (1964) and it introduced the character Boysie Oakes. In the 1970's, he wrote a series of novels known as the Moriarty Journals, which brought back Professor Moriarty, Sherlock Holmes' nemesis. In the 1980's, the holders of the James Bond copyright commissioned him to begin a new series with 007. The first Bond novel written by Gardner was "License Renewed" (1981), which was a success. From that point on, Gardner produced a new Bond novel every year, with the exception of 1985, until he retired from the series in 1996. The Bond titles that followed were "For Special Services" (1982), "Icebreaker" (1983), "Role of Honour" (1984), "Nobody Lives Forever" (1986), "No Deals, Mr. Bond" (1987), "Scorpius" (1988), "Win, Lose, or Die" (1989), "Brokenclaw" (1990), "The Man from Barbarossa" (1991), "Death is Forever" (1992), "Never Send Flowers" (1993), "Seafire" (1994), and "Cold" (aka Cold Fall) (1996).
Published May 7, 2013 by Road. 610 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Horror. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Maestro

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this first book to appear under the Penzler imprint, Gardner pulls crusty old agent-runner Big Herbie Kruger out of semiretirement to represent Britain's Secret Intelligence Service in the debriefi

Aug 30 1993 | Read Full Review of Maestro

Rate this book!

Add Review