Main Force Assault by David Sherman
(The Night Fighters)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Main Force Assault follows the Marines and Popular Forces of Combined Action Platoon T-9 as they continue their mission to protect the villagers of Bun Hou from the Viet Cong, and from corrupt South Vietnamese officials. Following the combat in the first book in the series, Knives in the Night, CAP Tango Niner has several replacements, including a new lieutenant, who has to be taught how to be a leader. The action here is sometimes hotter and heavier than in the previous book, but not everything is combat. The Marines find themselves having to deal with a sometimes mindless bureaucracy, and the attendant difficulties in getting things they need. There is a "midnight requisition" of a jeep, and a love interest is introduced as well. The way the Marines in the unit deal with the day to day realities of life in a CAP is true to life. It's always good to remember that Marines aren't supermen, they're simply men doing a very difficult, very dangerous job, and doing it very well, as is shown in the gritty combat scenes.

About David Sherman

See more books from this Author
Once upon a time, David Sherman enlisted in the US Marine Corps, and subsequently went to war. After serving as a fire team leader in a rifle company, he spent the rest of his tour in Vietnam in a combat outpost-type Combined Action Platoon. In a way, he never came home from the war. Following a too-short career as a sculptor (he studied at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, the nation's premier fine art school), he began writing. To date, he is the author or co-author of 34 books (33 novels and one novella), nearly all about Marines at war.
Published February 13, 2012 by David Sherman. 320 pages
Genres: Action & Adventure, War, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review