Man of the Century by James Stewart Thayer

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



The acclaimed author of such suspenseful novels as White Star and Pursuit now turns to his real love--a grand novel of a man awash in history who has done almost everything, and been almost everywhere. The rollicking story of 105-year-old Woodrow Lowe is filled with romance and lust, intrigue and creative violence--all against a background of impeccable historical accuracy.

About James Stewart Thayer

See more books from this Author
Thayer is an attorney.
Published October 1, 1997 by Dutton Adult. 352 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Man of the Century

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Writing in the tradition of Thomas Berger's Little Big Man, Thayer revels in the burlesque he adds to our otherwise overly romanticized past, gleefully transforming numerous well-known sacred cows--such as haughty Civil War General Philip Sheridan-- into braying jackasses.

| Read Full Review of Man of the Century

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

a stretch in the Amazon, where he's captured and held as a sex slave by ""the Women Who Live Alone."" The chief conflict in these yarns is Lowe's long-running battle to marry the woman of his dreams, a society beauty named Amy Balfour, whose corrupt brother takes advantage of the enormous sacrifi...

| Read Full Review of Man of the Century

Reader Rating for Man of the Century

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review