Manic by Terri Cheney

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 19 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

"I didn't tell anyone that I was going to Santa Fe to kill myself."

On the outside, Terri Cheney was a highly successful, attractive Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer. But behind her seemingly flawless façade lay a dangerous secret—for the better part of her life Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescriptions meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal."

In bursts of prose that mirror the devastating highs and extreme lows of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster life with shocking honesty—from glamorous parties to a night in jail; from flying fourteen kites off the edge of a cliff in a thunderstorm to crying beneath her office desk; from electroshock therapy to a suicide attempt fueled by tequila and prescription painkillers.

With Manic, Cheney gives voice to the unarticulated madness she endured. The clinical terms used to describe her illness were so inadequate that she chose to focus instead on her own experience, in her words, "on what bipolar disorder felt like inside my own body." Here the events unfold episodically, from mood to mood, the way she lived and remembers life. In this way the reader is able to viscerally experience the incredible speeding highs of mania and the crushing blows of depression, just as Cheney did. Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder—it takes us in its grasp and does not let go.

In the tradition of Darkness Visible and An Unquiet Mind, Manic is Girl, Interrupted with the girl all grown up. This harrowing yet hopeful book is more than just a searing insider's account of what it's really like to live with bipolar disorder. It is a testament to the sharp beauty of a life lived in extremes.

 

About Terri Cheney

See more books from this Author
Having specialized in intellectual property and entertainment law at several prominent Los Angeles firms, Terri Cheney now devotes her talents to the cause of mental illness. She was named a member of the board of the California Bipolar Foundation and the Community Advisory Board of the UCLA Mood Disorders Research Program. She is also the founder of a weekly support group at UCLA’s Semel Institute. She lives in Los Angeles.
 
Published October 13, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 274 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Health, Fitness & Dieting. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Manic

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Again, we’d feel worse for Cheney if her tortured accounts of fate’s blows weren’t accompanied by a parade of attractive men who find her irresistible, except for that darn mental illness of hers.

| Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Cheney unleashes a tragic and hopeful memoir that spills across the pages with the rush of a nicked artery.

Mar 22 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Embrace the absurdity of life with bipolar. Cross over into a different dimension where the rules simply don’t apply.

Mar 20 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Cheney has written a very frank memoir about her struggle with bipolar disorder.

Feb 03 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

It will only tell you how it felt for Terri Cheney, and her story may give you reference points - a guide to understanding how it feels for others who live with manic depression.

Mar 20 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

If you're interested in learning about the wild highs and devastating lows of manic depression, Cheney's frank memoir provides a unique insight.

Feb 03 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

I’ve dealt with depression and a bipolar condition all of my life.

Mar 22 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Unfortunately, the hyper state was only a transitional state between extreme mania and debilitating depression.

Apr 21 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

3 by Lesley Aeschliman Blogcritics Contact Blogcritics Advertising About Blogcritics RSS feeds All RSS Feeds (240+) All BC Articles All BC Comments Legal ...

Mar 20 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Manic: A Memoir is the story of Cheney's horrifying yet hopeful fight against the disease that nearly took her life.

Feb 03 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

NPR

See more reviews from this publication

NPR coverage of Manic by Terri Cheney. News, author interviews, critics' picks and more.

| Read Full Review of Manic

Story Circle Book Reviews

©Copyright to the review is held by the writer (review posting date appears on the review page).

Mar 31 2008 | Read Full Review of Manic

Book Angel Booktopia

... Title: Scissors, Sisters and Manic Panics Series: Sadie Nathanson #2. Author: Ellie Phillips Publisher: Electric Monkey Publication Date: 3 June ...

Jul 18 2013 | Read Full Review of Manic

http://mostlyyabookobsessed.com

... I received this book for free from ARC received for review purposes in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the ...

Aug 06 2013 | Read Full Review of Manic

Daisy Chain Book Reviews

... Sadie Nathanson's back - with more style and tangles than ever before. "Mrs Nellist came in for her cut and colour while Auntie and Tiffany ...

Jul 24 2013 | Read Full Review of Manic

A Dream of Books

... Scissors, Sisters and Manic Panics by Ellie Phillips, published by Electric Monkey on 3rd June 2013. Goodreads synopsis: Sadie Nathanson's ...

Jul 22 2013 | Read Full Review of Manic

http://bookstove.com

... This is a moving, yet disturbing book about the highs and lows of bipolar disorder . It is told by Terri Cheney, who is manic-depressive.

Nov 21 2010 | Read Full Review of Manic

Turn the Page

... An edgy, quick contemporary read for young readers.

Mar 24 2012 | Read Full Review of Manic

Chloe's Chick Lit Reviews Blog

... Roxy, Jack and daughter Joey, three, are building a new life for themselves in sunny Sydney, Australia, but Roxy's finding it hard to settle down.

Jan 20 2012 | Read Full Review of Manic

Reader Rating for Manic
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 235 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×