Marching to the Fault Line by Francis Beckett

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


The 1984 Miners’ strike was one of the defining moments in modern British history. Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher was determined to transform Britain and break the power of the Unions. On March 5, steered by the leader of the NUM, Arthur Scargill, the miners decided to protest the closures and called for industrial action.

Over the next eleven months, Britain would be dragged to the precipice of civil war as violence and resentment spilled out along the picket lines and on the streets. Thatcher was convinced to the end that the government might fall. However, the final defeat of the protest would mark the end of a way of life for hundreds of thousands as Attlee’s vision of a welfare state, trade unions and strong government was replaced by Thatcher’s Britain.

In Marching to the Fault Line leading journalists Francis Beckett and David Hencke have unrivalled access to key government and union players at the heart of the story; they have also uncovered material that the powerful would have liked to remain secret, including ‘dirty tricks’ and secret payments, jaw dropping incompetence, back biting, and double dealing.

From Downing Street to the picket lines, this book will reveal the true story behind the strike.

About Francis Beckett

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published June 1, 2009 by Constable. 288 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Political & Social Sciences, History, Travel.

Rate this book!

Add Review