Marshalling Justice by Michael G. Long
The Early Civil Rights Letters of Thurgood Marshall

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“[An] important collection….Michael G. Long deserves high praise indeed for unearthing [Marshall’s letters] and bringing them to light.”
—Wil Haygood

Collected together for the first time in Marshalling Justice, here are selected letters written by one of the most influential and important activists in the American Civil Rights movement: the brilliant legal mind and footsoldier for justice and racial equality, Thurgood Marshall. The correspondences of a rebellious young attorney with the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Marshalling Justice paints an eye-opening portrait of Thurgood Marshall before he became the first African American to serve on the U.S. Supreme Court, during his years as a groundbreaking and vibrant Civil Rights activist in the tradition of Martin Luther King and Julian Bond.

 

About Michael G. Long

See more books from this Author
Michael G. Long is an associate professor of religious studies and peace and conflict studies at Elizabethtown College and is the author or editor of several books on civil rights, religion, and politics in midcentury America, including First Class Citizenship: The Civil Rights Letters of Jackie Robinson and Billy Graham and the Beloved Community: America's Evangelist and the Dream of Martin Luther King, Jr. He holds a Ph.D. from Emory University in Atlanta and resides in Highland Park, Pennsylvania.
 
Published January 18, 2011 by HarperCollins e-books. 461 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Marshalling Justice

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Although he was primarily a litigator before becoming a judge, he also recognized the importance of grass-roots action when legal action failed—e.g., in 1937, after the Supreme Court refused to hear an appeal on behalf of the Scottsboro Boys (nine African-American youths wrongly convicted of rape...

| Read Full Review of Marshalling Justice: The Earl...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Readers for whom Marshall is best known for arguing and winning Brown v.

Nov 01 2010 | Read Full Review of Marshalling Justice: The Earl...

Review (Barnes & Noble)

Although he is remembered as the first African-American Supreme Court Justice, Thurgood Marshall in his day was one hell of a civil rights lawyer.

Jan 17 2011 | Read Full Review of Marshalling Justice: The Earl...

Portland Book Review

While some were content to settle for small compromises in civil rights, Marshall refused, stating “It is one thing to ‘take’ segregation that is forced upon you, and it is another thing to ask for segregation.” Author Michael Long’s introductions frame up these long overlooked letters, doing mu...

Aug 02 2011 | Read Full Review of Marshalling Justice: The Earl...

Rate this book!

Add Review
×