Martyr by Rory Clements
A Novel of Tudor Intrigue

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, MARTYR is the first in Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times England is close to war. Within days the axe could fall on the neck of Mary Queen of Scots, and Spain is already gathering a battle fleet to avenge her. Tensions in Elizabeth I's government are at breaking point. At the eye of the storm is John Shakespeare, chief intelligencer in the secret service of Sir Francis Walsingham. When an intercept reveals a plot to assassinate England's 'sea dragon', Francis Drake, Shakespeare is ordered to protect him. With Drake on land fitting out his ships, he is frighteningly vulnerable. If he dies, England will be open to invasion. In a London rife with rumour, Shakespeare must decide which leads to follow, which to ignore. When a high-born young woman is found mutilated and murdered at an illicit printing house, it is political gunpowder - and he has no option but to investigate. But why is Shakespeare shadowed at every turn by the brutal Richard Topcliffe, the blood-drenched priest-hunter who claims intimacy with Queen Elizabeth herself? What is Topcliffe's interest in a housemaid, whose baby has been stolen? And where do two fugitive Jesuit priests fit into the puzzle, one happy to die for God, the other to kill for Him? From the splendour and intrigue of the royal court, to the sleek warships of Her Majesty's Navy and the teeming brothels of Southwark, Shakespeare soon learns that nothing is as it seems ...
 

About Rory Clements

See more books from this Author
Rory Clements is a former national newspaper journalist. He now writes full-time in Norfolk, England. Bantam will publish his second John Shakespeare thriller, Revenger.
 
Published January 1, 2009 by John Murray. 402 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Horror, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Martyr

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

William Shakespeare's older brother, John, plays sleuth in Clements's excellent debut, billed as an Elizabethan thriller. While Queen Elizabeth hesitates to sign the death warrant for Mar

Mar 16 2009 | Read Full Review of Martyr: A Novel of Tudor Intr...

The Washington Post

Queen Elizabeth continues to dither about executing her long-imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots, who has been convicted of treason for plotting against Elizabeth's life.

Jun 15 2009 | Read Full Review of Martyr: A Novel of Tudor Intr...

Reviewing the Evidence

[ Home ].

Sep 07 2014 | Read Full Review of Martyr: A Novel of Tudor Intr...

Bookmarks Magazine

By jonMon, 06/15/2009 - 09:59.

Jun 15 2009 | Read Full Review of Martyr: A Novel of Tudor Intr...

Reader Rating for Martyr
74%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 20 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×