Matched by Ally Condie

78%

34 Critic Reviews

Cassia's metamorphosis is gripping and satisfying.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Look for CROSSED, the sequel to MATCHED, in Fall 2011!

Watch a Video

 

About Ally Condie

See more books from this Author
Ally Condie ha sido profesora de educación secundaria en los estados de Utah y Nueva York. Actualmente se dedica exclusivamente a escribir libros para niños y adolescentes, entre los cuales se encuentra la serie Juntos. Vive en Utah con su esposo y sus tres hijos.
 
Published September 20, 2011 by Speak. 416 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books, Self Help, Parenting & Relationships. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
2
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Matched
All: 34 | Positive: 29 | Negative: 5

Kirkus

Excellent
Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on Oct 01 2010

Condie peels back layer after dystopic layer at breakneck speed, Dylan Thomas reverberating throughout.

Read Full Review of Matched | See more reviews from Kirkus

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by elie8899 on Oct 21 2014

This book has such a wide range of language, some exciting characters and such a rich in-book world, and I absolutely love it. It is definitely on par with other books in its genre, like the Hunger Games and Divergent, yet the story is so different and more about feelings than struggling to survive.

Read Full Review of Matched | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by dewdrop on Apr 02 2013

This book does have a bit of romance in it but it is not your typical soppy love story, it is more of a kind of story that makes you wonder what life would be like if you were matched with people instead of choosing. Given a job instead of choosing. Given the day you will die instead of letting fate decide.

Read Full Review of Matched | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Lauren on Dec 27 2011

This book is brilliant. It is gripping right to the last page. It is unusual and very imaginative and that makes it even better.

Read Full Review of Matched | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by fifimonkey on Sep 23 2011

I really enjoyed this book as I'd never read anything like it before. It was very unusual. I would recommend this book to anyone over the age of ten.

Read Full Review of Matched | See more reviews from Guardian

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
Reviewed by Publishers Weekly on Oct 04 2010

Cassia's metamorphosis is gripping and satisfying.

Read Full Review of Matched | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Examiner

Excellent
Reviewed by NICOLE LANGAN on Sep 23 2011

A fascinating look at how subliminal messaging can influence love.

Read Full Review of Matched

Entertainment Weekly

Below average
Reviewed by Sara Vilkomerson on Dec 08 2010

Matched has ventured into surprisingly grown-up sci-fi. Not quite Soylent Green territory, but still kinda grim.

Read Full Review of Matched

LA Times

Excellent
Reviewed by Sara Scribner on Dec 06 2012

Cool and sophisticated where "The Hunger Games" was red hot and bloodthirsty, "Matched" convinced many that the YA genre was an intelligent force to be reckoned with in the general fiction world.

Read Full Review of Matched | See more reviews from LA Times

LA Times

Excellent
Reviewed by Susan Carpenter on Dec 12 2010

Ally Condie's debut features strong feminist ideals and impressive writing that's bound to captivate young minds.

Read Full Review of Matched | See more reviews from LA Times

The Bookbag

Excellent
Reviewed by Loralei Haylock on Dec 01 2010

A stunning opening chapter of a series that will hopefully go from strength to strength. I will certainly be waiting with bated breath for the next instalment!

Read Full Review of Matched

Pajiba

Above average
Reviewed by YesKnopeMaybe on May 08 2013

It's not perfect, but it's an immensely readable book. Condie's writing gives voice to the push and pull between choosing our futures and wondering what might have been if we had taken a different path.

Read Full Review of Matched

Deseret News

Good
Reviewed by Jessica Harrison on Nov 27 2010

Condie has created a unique story that offers just the right blend of the familiar and unknown. Her characters are compelling and likeable and have more dimension than that usually offered on the young adult scene.

Read Full Review of Matched

BlogHer

Good
Reviewed by leahmsilverman on Apr 17 2013

Overall, the book was a very enjoyable read. I wasn’t even bothered by the love triangle, because really it wasn’t a choice about who Cassia loves at all. The choice she makes is about whether or not she will “go gentle into that good night” or “rage, rage against the dying of the light”.

Read Full Review of Matched

Kidz World

Excellent
Reviewed by Kidz World on Dec 01 2010

It has an engaging, riveting plot that puts a completely modern spin on Romeo & Juliet.

Read Full Review of Matched

WAPL Teens

Good
Reviewed by Megan on Jan 25 2011

This dystopian love story will give you chills of every kind! The Society will creep you right out...And you'll have just as hard a time choosing between Xander and Ky as Cassia does...

Read Full Review of Matched

Alice Marvels

Good
Reviewed by alicemarvels on Dec 09 2010

...here is where I have to give Ally Condie tremendous props for world-building. I was itching as though it were me, not Cassia, who was trapped in a suffocating bubble, as the Society was painted for me through her words.

Read Full Review of Matched

Lytherus

Good
Reviewed by LAUREN ZURCHIN on Nov 30 2010

This book was well-written, complex, and interesting. The love triangle aspect was handled beautifully, and the development of Cassia’s desire for personal freedom was wonderful to watch. It will definitely have you thinking about choice and ultimately what is right for all of us.

Read Full Review of Matched

State Library of Victoria

Good
Reviewed by Jordi Kerr on Dec 12 2012

It is these sorts of questions that make Matched an engaging read, as well as a lingering one. I am pleased to have (finally) discovered it. And the best thing about being late to the party, is I don’t have to wait to read the other books in the series...

Read Full Review of Matched

Teen Ink

Good
Reviewed by MyDorkyHeart on Oct 04 2014

So if you think this book is cool enough, give it a go. Grab a snack or two, your favorite drink, and get comfortable. Trust me, by the time you finish the first page, you won’t be able to remove your nose from the book.

Read Full Review of Matched

Teen Ink

Good
Reviewed by Birdsong on Dec 01 2011

This book will absorb you, entrance you, and leave you on your library’s website, watching the number of holds go down until you can devour the second book, Crossed

Read Full Review of Matched

The Book Smugglers

Below average
Reviewed by Ana on Jan 09 2017

So this is why the book did not work for me. I reached page 200 and didn’t care one way or the other and I think the reason is the sense of detachment I had due to the clinical writing.

Read Full Review of Matched

http://www.reviewstream.com

Below average
on Feb 08 2017

...this book was a bit of a mess. I wouldn’t recommend ‘Matched’ to anybody, as it’s not something new or unique in any way.

Read Full Review of Matched

Novel Novice

Good
Reviewed by SARA on Nov 30 2010

This hum of unease builds upon itself until the book’s climax, which peaks with a cunning, cinematic quality that readers will devour.

Read Full Review of Matched

Parental Book Reviews

Good
on Jan 09 2017

I loved every page of this book! AND I'm excited that I can recommend this to readers of all ages!! Adults will love this as much as teens...

Read Full Review of Matched

Read. Breathe. Relax.

Good
Reviewed by Lisa Parkin on Dec 29 2011

I thought Matched was refreshing and different and I’m dying to read more. Condie introduced me to a brave new world (pun intended) that I can’t wait to read more about.

Read Full Review of Matched

http://www.clashentertainment.com

Good
Reviewed by Dianne on Feb 28 2011

This book will pull you in from the beginning, and hold you there if you are into teen romances. That was one of the major themes...along with living in a controlling society where everything is managed so your life will be…”perfect”.

Read Full Review of Matched

http://shouldbereading.wordpress.com

Good
Reviewed by Jenn on Feb 11 2012

...love-love-loved the budding relationship that Cassia discovers… the tension was just right, and I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen.

Read Full Review of Matched

Emily's Reading Room

Excellent
Reviewed by EMILY on Jan 10 2011

Without belaboring the point, this book gave me quite a bit to think about. I know many people will like the book for the romance.

Read Full Review of Matched

There's a Book

Good
Reviewed by the1stdaughter on Nov 24 2010

A dystopian debut centered around a society bent on perfection and order. The perfect read for fans of The Hunger Games and The Giver.

Read Full Review of Matched

Presenting Lenore

Above average
Reviewed by LENORE APPELHANS on Aug 20 2010

I enjoyed this installment, but really hope that the emotional impact quotient is raised in book two.

Read Full Review of Matched

Jessica Lawlor

Excellent
on Feb 28 2011

The detail, prose and description are what count for me. Once I’m invested in the story and the world, I’m pretty much sold. I know there is more action to come in the next two books and I can’t wait!

Read Full Review of Matched

Down the Rabbit Hole

Excellent
Reviewed by AMBER on Apr 04 2011

Matched was one of those books that succeeded in making me really look at what I have. These basic things that Ky and Cassia and Xander are fighting for are things we take for granted.

Read Full Review of Matched

Loving Books

Above average
Reviewed by Geplaatst door Loving Books on Dec 05 2016

I found the pace in the book disappointing and I truly believe that the story would have been better if we had 50 pages less of the descriptions. It would have made the book easier to read and more interesting to see the plot develop.

Read Full Review of Matched

Reader Rating for Matched
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 3392 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Nicole

Nicole 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Mark Swaim-Fox

Mark Swaim-Fox 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×