Medieval Romances - The Perigueux Family by Patricia Ryan
(Secret Thunder and Wild Wind)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


Both volumes of Patricia Ryan’s Périgueux Family medieval romances, originally published by NAL, in one bargain-priced “boxed set.”

Secret Thunder (Périgueux Family Book #1): A young Saxon widow enters into an arranged marriage to the notorious Black Dragon, a Norman knight with a ferocious reputation—and a terrible secret. The paperback edition made the Ingrams A-List of Top 50 Requested Titles for three weeks. “A marvelous love story from the queen of medieval romance. I will buy anything she writes! If you only read one historical romance this year, it should be Secret Thunder!” The Literary Times

Wild Wind (Périgueux Family Book #2): Alex’s youthful passion for Nicolette ended with a savage beating for him and an arranged marriage for her to another man. Nine years later, her husband asks Alex to sire a child on her, then disappear forever. A Waldenbooks Star Pick. Nominated by RT Book Reviews for Best Medieval Historical Romance. “Ryan has written a sensual, emotionally involving, and compelling story of forbidden love that readers will not soon forget.” Library Journal

Praise for the Périgueux Family series:

“Patricia Ryan continues to create superb medieval romances that capture the atmosphere and tenor of the time. She is a wonderful writer whose talent continues to enchant readers.” RT Book Reviews

“Patricia Ryan brings startling freshness to this historical period.” Affaire de Coeur

“Ms. Ryan has penned a totally absorbing tale with complicated situations and complex, compelling characters. The poignant relationship between Faithe and Luke is achingly beautiful, as a woman’s love redeems a tortured man. I loved everything about this book. Brava, Ms. Ryan. It’s the best book yet!!” The Old Book Barn Gazette

“Patricia Ryan is a master, blending rich historical detail and poignant emotions, making the era come alive in an honest, seamless story. Brilliant!” RomEx Review

“This is a powerful, absorbing story readers will cherish. Ms. Ryan earns a place of honor on medieval romance readers’ shelves with this masterful tale that brings an era, a people and a brilliant love story to life. Fans of Anita Mills, Denise Domning, Roberta Gellis and Sharon Kay Penman, rejoice, here’s another star!” RT Book Reviews

“Wild Wind sweeps the reader into the past and holds her there, entangled in lost innocence and forbidden desires, in everlasting love that a man has vowed to deny. It’s wonderful. Don’t miss it!” New York Times Bestselling Author Jo Beverley

“A definite must read for fans of medieval romance! Few authors can bring the past to life as vividly as Patricia Ryan.” The Literary Times

“Explosive and spellbinding. Ms. Ryan once more deftly develops unique and unusual plot elements in this finely crafted tale of bittersweet love. This poignant and thought-provoking medieval is remarkable and unforgettable.” The Old Book Barn Gazette

“Wild Wind was a blockbuster from the first page. I quite literally could not put this book down, and was very surprised by the ending.” Romance Communications

“Compelling and romantic, gritty and realistic....Wild Wind may be the first Patricia Ryan book I’ve read, but it won’t be the last.” The Romance Reader

“Last year, when I finished Patricia Ryan’s medieval Secret Thunder, I ran out to ...track down her back list, only to be told time and again that her books are loved so much they are never returned!” Under the Covers

About the Author:

Patricia Ryan has written more than two dozen novels, which have garnered rave reviews and been published in over twenty countries. A RITA winner (for Silken Threads) and four-time nominee, she is also the recipient of two Romantic Times Awards and a Mary Higgins Clark Award nomination for the second book of her historical mystery series featuring Boston governess Nell Sweeney, which she wrote under the name P.B. Ryan. Pat’s Evil Twin, Pamela Burford, is also a published romance novelist. Visit Pat’s website at

About Patricia Ryan

See more books from this Author
Patricia Ryan worked in the publishing industry in New York City and Rochester, as both a marketing manager and editor. Dubbed "The Queen of Medieval Romance" by the Literary Times, she has won Romance Writers of America's prestigious Rita award for Silken Threads and lives in Rochester, New York.
Published January 1, 2012 by Hawkley Books. 637 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for Medieval Romances - The Perigueux Family

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review