Mind over Money by Claudia Hammond
The Psychology of Money and How to Use It Better

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

The book occasionally feels like a long night at the bar with a bunch of researchers recounting every study they’ve ever done, with only the thinnest of connective tissue. Some readers may just want to go back and read those who pioneered this research, like Kahneman and Dan Ariely, often good and entertaining writers themselves.
-NY Times

Synopsis

The acclaimed author of Time Warped tackles the very latest research in the fields of neuroscience, psychology, and biology to provide a fresh, fascinating, and thought-provoking look at our relationship with money—perfect for fans of Dan Ariely and Freakonomics.

We know we need money and we often want more of it, but we don’t always think about the way it affects our minds and our emotions, skews our perceptions and even changes the way we behave.

Award-winning BBC Radio 4 host Claudia Hammond delves into the surprising psychology of money to show us that our relationship with the stuff is more complex than we might think. Drawing on the latest research in psychology, neuroscience and behavioural economics, she draws an anatomy of the power it holds over us. She also reveals some simple and effective tricks that will help you use and save money better—from how being grumpy can stop you getting ripped off to why you should opt for the more expensive pain relief and why you should never offer to pay your friends for favours.

An eye-opening and entertaining investigation into the power money holds over us, Mind over Money will change the way you view the cash in your wallet and the figures in your bank account forever.

Mind over Money is an invaluable resource for anyone fascinated by the dynamics of money and for those wishing to learn how to maximize its power and greatest benefit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Claudia Hammond

See more books from this Author
Claudia Hammond is a writer, broadcaster and psychology lecturer. She is the voice of psychology on BBC Radio 4 where she is the presenter of All in the Mind and Mind Changers. She is the author of one previous book in the UK, Emotional Rollercoaster, and is also a part-time member of faculty at Boston University's base in London. Hammond won the Society of Personality & Social Psychology's Media Award in 2013. the British Psychological Society's Public Engagement and Media Award in 2012, Mind's Making a Difference Award in 2011, and the Public Understanding of Neuroscience Award from the British Neuroscience Assocation in 2012.
 
Published November 1, 2016 by Harper Perennial. 384 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Health, Fitness & Dieting, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Mind over Money
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Good
on Sep 19 2016

A delightful treatment of a subject many of us would prefer to ignore, gently subversive in its undermining of preconceptions and prejudices.

Read Full Review of Mind over Money: The Psycholo... | See more reviews from Kirkus

NY Times

Above average
Reviewed by NATHANIEL POPPER on Jan 05 2017

The book occasionally feels like a long night at the bar with a bunch of researchers recounting every study they’ve ever done, with only the thinnest of connective tissue. Some readers may just want to go back and read those who pioneered this research, like Kahneman and Dan Ariely, often good and entertaining writers themselves.

Read Full Review of Mind over Money: The Psycholo... | See more reviews from NY Times

Rate this book!

Add Review
×