Mission Flats by William Landay

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Before the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense—perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane.
 
“Landay writes with eloquent intensity.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city’s toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police—especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man—or let a guilty one go free—one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come.
 
Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob
 
“A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
“An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“[Landay’s] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment.”—Rocky Mountain News
 
“Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it.”—Lee Child
 
Winner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel
 

About William Landay

See more books from this Author
William Landay is the author of The Strangler, a Los Angeles Times Favorite Crime Book of the Year, and Mission Flats, winner of the Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel and a Barry Award nominee. A former district attorney who holds degrees from Yale and Boston College Law School, Landay lives in Boston, where he is at work on his next novel of suspense.
 
Published August 26, 2003 by Delacorte Press. 161 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Horror, Action & Adventure, Crime. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read

Unrated Critic Reviews for Mission Flats

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Determined not to be left out of the loop, Ben, helped by retired Boston cop John Kelly and his lawyer daughter Caroline, sprints to Boston, dogs the Beantown investigators, and acquires a new mentor, crusty bend-the-rules cop Martin Gittens, whose past includes shady interference in a crack-hous...

| Read Full Review of Mission Flats

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Forced by circumstances to become a small-town cop, the protagonist of former Boston district attorney Landay's inventive, gripping suspense debut finds himself embroiled in a big-city murder investigation.

| Read Full Review of Mission Flats

Book Reporter

Given that Danziger was in the middle of prosecuting one of Braxton's underlings and that Braxton was seen in the area prior to the discovery of Danziger's body, Braxton's culpability is a foregone conclusion.

Jan 22 2011 | Read Full Review of Mission Flats

Reviewing the Evidence

Ben Truman was the police chief of tiny Versailles, Maine, although that was not how he had planned his life.

| Read Full Review of Mission Flats

Reviewing the Evidence

Admittedly, there are some flaws to the book, as there are to all books;

| Read Full Review of Mission Flats

Reviewing the Evidence

But Ben is soon asking himself whether Harold is as guilty and the police as innocent as they first seem, And before too much longer, the reader starts to wonder about the reliability of Ben's narration.

| Read Full Review of Mission Flats

ReviewingtheEvidence.com

But Ben made one smart move by deputizing Kelly, and he helps steer Ben through the investigation.

| Read Full Review of Mission Flats

Reader Rating for Mission Flats
73%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 439 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Ann Caswell

Ann Caswell 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×