Morning in the Burned House by Margaret Atwood

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Morning in the Burned House sees Margaret Atwood's poetry returning to the fiery intensity of her early books, such as The Circle Game (1966), which won the Canadian Governor General's Award, and Procedures for Underground (1970), which established her as an international voice. These beautifully crafted poems - by turns dark, playful, intensely moving, tender, and intimate - come together as Atwood's most accomplished and versatile gathering to date, "setting foot on the middle ground/between body and word." Some poems draw on history and on myth, both classical and popular. Others, more personal, concern themselves with love and the fragility of the natural world in a contemporary landscape haunted by images of the past. Morning in the Burned House, Atwood's first poetry collection in a decade, shines with breathtaking insight, technical virtuosity, and a clarity of vision that has the force to change the way we look at our lives. As Michael Ondaatje has written, "Margaret Atwood bri

About Margaret Atwood

See more books from this Author
Born November 18, 1939, in Ottawa, Canada, Margaret Atwood spent her early years in the northern Quebec wilderness. Settling in Toronto in 1946, she continued to spend summers in the northern woods. This experience provided much of the thematic material for her verse. She began her writing career as a poet, short story writer, cartoonist, and reviewer for her high school paper. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962. Atwood's first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie (1970), Power Politics (1971), Cat's Eye (1986), The Robber Bride (1993), Morning in the Buried House (1995), and Alias Grace (1996). Many of her works focus on women's issues. She has won numerous awards for her poetry and fiction including the Prince of Asturias award for Literature, the Booker Prize, the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the Arthur C. Clarke Award.
Published September 25, 1995 by Houghton Mifflin. 127 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Morning in the Burned House

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In her first poetry collection since 1987's Selected Poems II, Atwood brings a swift, powerful energy to meditative poems that often begin in domestic settings and then broaden into numinous dialogues.

| Read Full Review of Morning in the Burned House

Reader Rating for Morning in the Burned House

An aggregated and normalized score based on 12 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review