Mozart's Last Aria by Matt Rees
A Novel (P.S.)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews



Award-winning author Matt Rees takes readers to 18th centuryAustria, where Mozart’s estranged sister Nannerl stumblesinto a world of ambition, conspiracy, and immortal music while attempting touncover the truth about her brother’s suspicious death. Did Mozart’s life endin murder? Nannerl must brave dire circumstances tofind out, running afoul of the secret police, the freemasons, and even theAustrian Emperor himself as she delves into a scandal greater than she had everimagined. With captivating historical details, compelling characters, and areal-life mystery upon which everything hinges, Rees—the award-winning authorof the  internationally acclaimed Omar Yussefcrime series—writes in the tradition of Irvin Yalom’sWhen Nietzsche Wept, Louis Bayard’s The Pale Blue Eye, andPhillip Sington’s The Einstein Girl to achievethe very best in historical fiction with Mozart’s Last Aria.

About Matt Rees

See more books from this Author
Matt Rees is an award-winning crime novelist and foreign correspondent. He is the author of the internationally acclaimed Omar Yussef crime series, including The Collaborator of Bethlehem. He is also the author of Cain’s Field, a nonfiction account of Israeli and Palestinian society. Matt lives in Jerusalem.
Published November 1, 2011 by Harper Perennial. 336 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Mozart's Last Aria

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Rees' latest marks a distinct departure from the Omar Yussef detective series as it combines mystery and historical intrigue with a timeless love story.

Oct 18 2011 | Read Full Review of Mozart's Last Aria: A Novel (...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this engaging, well-paced book from crime novelist and journalist Rees (The Collaborator of Bethlehem), Mozart’s estranged sister, Madame Maria Anna Berchtold von Sonnenburg (called Nannerl by her family), travels to Vienna to investigate the mysterious circumstances of her brother’s sudde...

Sep 05 2011 | Read Full Review of Mozart's Last Aria: A Novel (...


In the letter is another letter that Nannerl received from Constanze, Mozart's wife, when Mozart died in 1791.

Nov 13 2011 | Read Full Review of Mozart's Last Aria: A Novel (...

Book Reporter

In MOZART’S LAST ARIA, Rees imagines that when Nannerl hears the news of Mozart’s suspicious death from her sister-in-law, she rushes to Vienna.

Jan 05 2012 | Read Full Review of Mozart's Last Aria: A Novel (...

The Wall Street Journal

See more reviews from this publication

In “Mozart’s Last Aria,” Nannerl investigates the possible murder of the brother with whom she had fallen out, in turn changing her view of Wolfgang and herself.

Nov 28 2011 | Read Full Review of Mozart's Last Aria: A Novel (...

Reader Rating for Mozart's Last Aria

An aggregated and normalized score based on 43 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review