My Beating Teenage Heart by C. K. Kelly Martin

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

This book is packed with vivid description and wondrous details that intrigue you, and make you want to read more. Overall, I would give it four-and-a-half stars out of five. Well done!
-National Post arts

Synopsis

Ashlyn Baptiste is falling. One moment she was nothing—no memories, no self—and then suddenly, she's plummeting through a sea of stars. Is she in a coma? She doesn't remember dying, and she has no memories of the life she left behind. All she knows is that she's trapped in a consciousness without a body and she's spending every moment watching a stranger.

Breckon Cody's on the edge. He's being ripped apart by grief so intense it literally hurts to breathe. On the surface, Breckon is trying to hold it together for his family and his girlfriend, but underneath he's barely hanging on.

Even though she didn't know him in life, Ashlyn sees Breckon's pain, and she's determined to find a way help him. As her own distressing memories emerge from the darkness, she struggles to communicate with the boy who can't see her, but whose life is suddenly intertwined with hers. In alternating voices of the main characters, My Beating Teenage Heart paints a devastatingly vivid picture of both the heartbreak and the promise of teenage life—a life Ashlyn would do anything to recover and Breckon seems desperate to destroy—and will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, John Green, and David Levithan.


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About C. K. Kelly Martin

See more books from this Author
C. K. Kelly Martin is the author of YA books I Know It's Over, One Lonely Degree, The Lighter Side of Life and Death, My Beating Teenage Heart and Yesterday. Come See About Me is her first work of adult fiction. C. K. began writing her first novel in a flat in Dublin and finished it in a Toronto suburb. She currently lives in the GTA with her husband where she's perpetually working on new novels and redesigning her website and blog. You can visit them both at ckkellymartin.com or drop in to her new site comeseeaboutme.com.
 
Published September 27, 2011 by Random House Books for Young Readers. 290 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for My Beating Teenage Heart
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

National Post arts

Good
Reviewed by Paige Duncan on Dec 16 2011

This book is packed with vivid description and wondrous details that intrigue you, and make you want to read more. Overall, I would give it four-and-a-half stars out of five. Well done!

Read Full Review of My Beating Teenage Heart | See more reviews from National Post arts

Reader Rating for My Beating Teenage Heart
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 10 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×