My Fair Junkie by Amy Dresner
A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

When Dresner finally decided to take getting clean seriously after performing a monthlong court-ordered service sweeping the condoms and syringes off Santa Monica Boulevard, her resolve is palpable. A hard-knocks addiction memoir buoyed with humor and insight.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.

Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon."

Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties.

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.
 

About Amy Dresner

See more books from this Author
Amy Dresner is a former professional stand-up comic, having appeared at The Comedy Store, The Laugh Factory, and The Improv. Since 2012, she has been the sole columnist for the online addiction and recovery magazine TheFix.com. She also recently started freelancing for the Good Men Project and has been a regular contributor to Addiction.com and PsychologyToday.com where she has her own addiction blog entitled "Coming Clean" and is one of only a select few contributors without a Ph.D. selected to write for the website.
 
Published September 12, 2017 by Hachette Books. 257 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Health, Fitness & Dieting. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for My Fair Junkie
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Jul 04 2017

When Dresner finally decided to take getting clean seriously after performing a monthlong court-ordered service sweeping the condoms and syringes off Santa Monica Boulevard, her resolve is palpable. A hard-knocks addiction memoir buoyed with humor and insight.

Read Full Review of My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of G... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review
×