My Heart Is an Idiot by Davy Rothbart
Essays

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 12 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets--and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He's continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don't work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it's humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits.
But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it's his prose that's the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

 

About Davy Rothbart

See more books from this Author
Davy Rothbart is a frequent contributor to This American Life and a variety of magazines, the founder of Found Magazine and the editor of its various bestselling anthologies, and the author of The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas. He was born and raised in Ann Arbor, Michigan, where he still lives. My Heart Is an Idiot is his fourth book.
 
Published September 4, 2012 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux. 320 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for My Heart Is an Idiot

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Rothbart’s proclaimed modesty actually comes packaged in loads of hyperbole—every girl he falls for is the most beautiful girl in the room, every night was the most amazing night ever, every dumb drunken thing was the dumbest, most drunken thing he could have done.

Jul 15 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In both “99 Bottles of Pee on the Wall,” about his Howard Hughes–like penchant for urinating in glass bottles while recuperating from an ankle injury coupled with a growing hatred for a series of sham literary contests, and “Shade,” the story of his lifelong obsession with a character f...

Jul 23 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

AV Club

See more reviews from this publication

“Maybe [my friends] were right,” Rothbart writes toward the end of the book, “and that precious, terrible longing I felt every time I saw a girl who could be ‘the one’ was an end in itself, and all I truly craved.” His steady devotion to his own ideal raises the question of what his girlfriends m...

Sep 17 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

The Boston Globe

In his new collection of personal essays, Davy Rothbart spends most of his time drinking, traveling, drinking, adventuring — mostly in a quest to find the perfect woman — and drinking some more.

Sep 26 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Pajiba

The documentary My Heart is An Idiot, David Meiklejohn’s directorial debut, follows the romantic travails of the amusingly — and sometimes painfully — solipsistic Davy Rothbart, the founder of Found Magazine, a compendium of found notes and love letters sent in from around the country.

| Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Bookmarks Magazine

(My favorite piece involves Rothbart's attempt to seek revenge on a scam artist by dumping urine on his head.) But none of these hilarious reflections would work if Rothbart didn't show such a clear sense of self-awareness.

Sep 16 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

The Rumpus

Sitting down to watch My Heart Is An Idiot, the romantic documentary by FOUND Magazine founder Davy Rothbart and director David Meiklejohn, I expected a typical story of “boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy wins girl back…or loses her forever.” Allow me to dispel any preconceived notions: that is...

Jun 08 2011 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Time Out New York

It’s a satisfying end to a brutally honest, heartfelt and clever collection that rarely misses a beat in its unheroic remembrances of things past.

Sep 19 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Book Forum

According to the website of Found magazine, which was started by Davy Rothbart in 2001, the publication accepts "anything that gives a glimpse into someone else's life."

Sep 05 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Critical Mob

Davy Rothbart is the literary equivalent of the popular high school boy that smokes Marlboro reds and throws house parties, yet still manages stellar grades and near perfect attendance.

Sep 04 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

The Paris Review

(See Paris Review issue 195 for the debut of Watkins’s story “Goldmine,” here retitled “The Past Perfect, the Past Continuous, the Simple Past.” —Samuel Fox I am currently on vacation, and my travel companion has been reading David Footman’s 1936 cult novel Pig and Pepper.

Sep 07 2012 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Ken Greenleaf

An olive-skinned vision in shorts and an NBA jersey (clearly a plus to a quirky dresser like Rothbart), Alex is kind and funny, but reserved, leading Rothbart to relentless anguish (of the "Should I call her?

May 10 2011 | Read Full Review of My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays

Reader Rating for My Heart Is an Idiot
74%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 102 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×