My Misspent Youth by meghan daum
Essays

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

My Misspent Youth is an incisive collection that marked the start of a new millennium and became a cult classic, from the editor of Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed and the author of The Unspeakable

An essayist in the tradition of Joan Didion, Meghan Daum is one of the most celebrated nonfiction writers of her generation, widely recognized for her fresh, provocative approach with which she unearths the hidden fault lines in the American landscape.

From her well remembered New Yorker essays about the financial demands of big-city ambition and the ethereal, strangely old-fashioned allure of cyber-relationships to her dazzlingly hilarious riff in Harper’s about musical passions that give way to middle-brow paraphernalia, Daum delves into the center of things while closely examining the detritus that spills out along the way. With precision and well-balanced irony, Daum implicates herself as readily as she does the targets that fascinate and horrify her.

 

About meghan daum

See more books from this Author
Meghan Daum is the author of the essay collection My Misspent Youth and the novel The Quality of Life Report, a New York Times Notable Book. Her column on political, cultural, and social affairs appears weekly in the Los Angeles Times and is distributed nationally through the McClatchy news service. She has contributed to public radio's Morning Edition, Marketplace, and This American Life, and has written for numerous publications, including The New Yorker, Harper's Magazine, GQ, Vogue, Harper's Bazaar, and The New York Times Book Review. She lives in Los Angeles. www.meghandaum.com
 
Published December 23, 2014 by Picador. 192 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences, Literature & Fiction, Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for My Misspent Youth

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Readers who abandoned suburban homes to pursue low-paying glamour professions in the Big Apple may relate to living in denial (of student loans) and in hope (of finding an affordable apartment), but Daum’s endless whining about her inability to live within her means will tax anyone’s patience in ...

| Read Full Review of My Misspent Youth: Essays

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

While her main premise that many Americans live ""not actual lives but simulations of lives...

| Read Full Review of My Misspent Youth: Essays

Reader Rating for My Misspent Youth
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 26 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×