My So-Called Death by Stacey Jay

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


Just because you don't have a pulse doesn't mean you can't be perky.

One second, freshman Karen Vera's on top of the most fabulous cheer pyramid ever. The next, she's lying on the pavement with seriously unflattering cranial damage. Freakishly alive without a pulse, Karen learns that she's a genetically undead zombie.

Suddenly, Karen's non-life is an epic disaster. She's forced to attend a boarding school for the "death-challenged," her roommate is a hateful wannabe-Goth weirdo, and she's chowing down on animal brains every day to prevent rot (um, ew?). Even worse, someone is attacking students and harvesting their brains for a forbidden dark ritual. And it might be the hottest guy at DEAD High, the one who makes Karen's non-beating heart flutter!

Armed with a perky smile and killer fashion sense, it's up to Karen to track down the brain snatcher and save her fellow students from certain zombie death.

A light romantic mystery filled with gross-out humor and plenty of brains perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Robin Benway, and C.L. Stone.

“A welcome horror spoof.” –Booklist

About Stacey Jay

See more books from this Author
Stacey Jay (Little Rock, Arkansas) is a workaholic and author of books for young adults. She has four kids, a decidedly sick sense of humor, and loves creepies, crawlies, blood, guts, and of course romance. Visit her online at
Published October 7, 2014 by Flux. 214 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for My So-Called Death

An aggregated and normalized score based on 23 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review