My Year of Meats by Ruth Ozeki
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Ozeki has an assured, fluid writing style, but the heart of the book—an impassioned polemic on the dangers of beef—is better suited for non-fiction. Her novel turns out to be about as convincing as an especially glossy, BEEF-EX-approved My American Wife! episode.
-AV Club

Synopsis

A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love—the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being

Ruth Ozeki’s mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as “rare and provocative” and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.
 

About Ruth Ozeki

See more books from this Author
RUTH OZEKI, author of My Year of Meats and All Over Creation, is an award-winning writer and filmmaker. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, The Shambhala Sun, and More, among other publications. In June 2010 she was ordained as a Zen Buddhist priest and is affiliated with the Brooklyn Zen Center and the Everyday Zen Foundation. She lives in British Columbia and New York City.
 
Published March 1, 1999 by Penguin Books. 449 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for My Year of Meats
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

AV Club

Below average
Reviewed by Scott Tobias on Mar 29 2002

Ozeki has an assured, fluid writing style, but the heart of the book—an impassioned polemic on the dangers of beef—is better suited for non-fiction. Her novel turns out to be about as convincing as an especially glossy, BEEF-EX-approved My American Wife! episode.

Read Full Review of My Year of Meats: A Novel | See more reviews from AV Club

Reader Rating for My Year of Meats
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 224 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×