Mystic City by Theo Lawrence

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.  
 

About Theo Lawrence

See more books from this Author
THEO LAWRENCE is a graduate of Columbia University and the Juilliard School. A Presidential Scholar in the Arts for Voice, he has performed at Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and Off-Broadway.
 
Published October 9, 2012 by Delacorte Press. 417 pages
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Mystic City

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Aria relates, at a believable pace, her evolution from the fragile puppet of her manipulative family to a defiant, independent young woman intent on recapturing her lost memories and finding her true love.

| Read Full Review of Mystic City

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Several generations into climate change, parts of Manhattan are 30 feet underwater, and class divisions are progressing rapidly down the path H.G.

Sep 03 2012 | Read Full Review of Mystic City

The Overflowing Library

Things are trying to change as the mystics have a representative in Violet Brooks who is running for office up against the odds who wants to get more freedom for mystics and end the cruel practice of draining mystics of their power forcibly.

Oct 15 2012 | Read Full Review of Mystic City

The Young Folks

I think that’s when you can truly objectively assess whether a book is good or not.

| Read Full Review of Mystic City

The Young Folks

I liked how Mystic City wasn’t just dedicated to the romance, but everything in the world Aria and Hunter live in.

Sep 27 2012 | Read Full Review of Mystic City

Katy Times

The world was sci-fi-ish, but I had a really hard time picturing everything - how the world was set up, how people got around other than walk, what Aeries looks like, what the Mystics' underground or whatever looked like.

Oct 07 2012 | Read Full Review of Mystic City

Reader Rating for Mystic City
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 169 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×