Nest by Janine Burke
The Art of Birds

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Part natural history, part folklore, part exploration of art and aesthetics, part memoir, a beautiful book that will appeal to bird lovers, readers of literature, and art lovers

As an amateur naturalist and nature lover, Janine Burke, art historian and author, has spent many years observing birds. Here is the story of her passion, a personal, wide-ranging, and intimate book that will appeal to all those who love nature, literature, and art. What are nests if not art created by nature? If a nest is not art, how can we account for those exquisite, painstakingly, constructed creations that are decorated, or woven through with feathers, or studded with objects of a particular color or sheen? This book reveals both the art and mystery found in nature and celebrates them with lyricism, insight, and great affection. In the tradition of Longitude, Cod, or The Cello Suites, this memoir is also a short education that encompasses celebration and theory, investigation and memoir, the familiar and the revelatory—as surprising and enticing as any beautiful, intricately constructed nest.

About Janine Burke

See more books from this Author
Janine Burke is an art historian, biographer, novelist, and curator. Her novel Company of Images was shortlisted for both the Age Book of the Year award and the Miles Franklin. She is also the author of The Sphinx on the Table.
Published April 1, 2013 by Allen & Unwin. 184 pages
Genres: History, Nature & Wildlife, Sports & Outdoors, Science & Math, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Nest

Sunshine Coast Daily

Topics: .

Apr 29 2012 | Read Full Review of Nest: The Art of Birds

Burke's (The Sphinx on the Table) latest work ranges widely and wildly, incorporating miscellaneous looks at its subject and, especially, how they inspired Keats, Shelley, Robert Frost, Darwin, Wordsworth, Karen Blixen, and others in the Western pantheon of writing and culture. This small book co...

Apr 15 2013 | Read Full Review of Nest: The Art of Birds

Rate this book!

Add Review