Never Say Never by Ricki Lake
Finding a Life That Fits

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

Fans of Lake, Waters, or Hollywood in general will find the autobiography both tender and fun, while also illuminating and honest.
-Provincetown Magazine

Synopsis

The world first met Ricki Lake in 1988 as Tracy Turnblad in the film Hairspray. Weighing in at just over 200 pounds, the 5'3" teenager challenged what it meant to be an overweight woman in America: this fat girl got the guy, was part of the in crowd, and could sing and dance like nobody was watching. When she got her own talk show at twenty-four, Ricki had been transformed. She was a slender, mature woman whose long-running show changed daytime television forever. And when Ricki left it all behind to follow her heart and produce The Business of Being Born, we once again saw her in a new light, as a passionate advocate who wasn’t afraid to stand up for her beliefs and work for change.

Ricki Lake’s life has been a series of rebirths—from fat to skinny, married to divorced, rich to poor, and more. In her intimate, bold, and relatable book, Ricki shows us how her unique life in the spotlight offers wisdom to anyone who has ever struggled in her own skin. She takes us behind the scenes of her troubled childhood—filled with food issues, abuse, and an unabashed yearning for a better life outside of her suburban home. She pulls back the curtain on her talk show and her early days as a “fat actress,” and she shows how she reinvented herself as an author, filmmaker, and much beloved finalist on Dancing with the Stars. Ricki weathered near-bankruptcy and an extremely difficult divorce, but, as she writes, life always hands you the unexpected—so you should never say never. Much to her surprise, Ricki has dated some of Hollywood’s most eligible bachelors, appeared on the cover of Us Weekly magazine in a swimsuit, and fell in love when she least expected it. And now she’s ready to talk about it all.

Never Say Never is an inspiring, entertaining, and down-to-earth account of one woman who defied the odds and refused to give up. By trusting her gut and following her heart, Ricki Lake turned an unconventional life into an unparalleled triumph, and this memoir stands as a hopeful, hilarious, and honest exploration of how any woman can do the same.
 

About Ricki Lake

See more books from this Author
Ricki Lake is an actress, television host, and the executive producer of the documentary, The Business of Being Born. She is also the author of Your Best Birth. She lives with her husband and two sons in Los Angeles.
 
Published April 17, 2012 by Atria Books. 306 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Humor & Entertainment. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Never Say Never
All: 3 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 1

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
Mar 13 2012

Minus much scoop, Lake gives a glimpse into what makes this self-proclaimed alpha-woman tick.

Read Full Review of Never Say Never : Finding a L... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Provincetown Magazine

Excellent
Reviewed by Stephen Desroches on Jun 02 2012

Fans of Lake, Waters, or Hollywood in general will find the autobiography both tender and fun, while also illuminating and honest.

Read Full Review of Never Say Never : Finding a L...

Geeky Bloggers Book Blog

Below average
Reviewed by Felicia on May 09 2012

70% of this book just seemed to be full of negative–from not as smart as me, doesn’t live as well as me, and even friends aren’t quite good enough.

Read Full Review of Never Say Never : Finding a L...

Reader Rating for Never Say Never
68%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 50 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×