Neversink by Barry Wolverton

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

Perhaps he thought the development of the characters and the comedic value wasn’t as important as the novel itself. Personally, I rate this book a 6 out of 10.
-OPLbery Club: YOU Be the Judge

Synopsis

Barry Wolverton's masterful middle-grade debut, Neversink, is an epic tale of some very un-epic birds, a fast-paced and funny story of survival, friendship, and fish, in the vein of Watership Down and Kathi Appelt's The Underneath.

Along the Arctic Circle lies a small island called Neversink, home to a colony of odd-looking seabirds called auks, including one Lockley J. Puffin. With their oceanfront views and plentiful supply of fish, the auks have few concerns—few, save for Lockley's two best friends, Egbert and Ruby, a know-it-all walrus and a sharp-tongued hummingbird.

But all of this is about to change. Rozbell, the newly crowned king of the Owl Parliament, has long had his scheming eyes on the small colony to the north. Now Neversink's independence hangs in the balance. An insurgence of owls will inevitably destroy life as the auks know it—unless Lockley can do something about it.

 

About Barry Wolverton

See more books from this Author
Barry Wolverton makes his debut with Neversink. The story was born out of his longtime fascination with arctic wildfowl and Scandinavian folklore. He has also written for National Geographic, Scholastic.com, and Discovery Networks. Barry lives in Memphis, TN. You can visit him online at www.barrywolverton.com.
 
Published March 27, 2012 by Walden Pond Press. 320 pages
Genres: Action & Adventure, Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books, War, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Neversink
All: 3 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 1

There's a Book

Good
Reviewed by thefirstdaughter on Apr 11 2012

At it’s core though Neversink by Barry Wolverton is a novel filled with love, compassion, determination and a cast that brings those things to life.

Read Full Review of Neversink

Bunbury in the Stacks

Good
Reviewed by Heidi on Apr 30 2012

In the end we see that like Neversink, not every good story needs a moral. Some adventures just need to happen.

Read Full Review of Neversink

OPLbery Club: YOU Be the Judge

Below average
Reviewed by Lucas on Apr 12 2012

Perhaps he thought the development of the characters and the comedic value wasn’t as important as the novel itself. Personally, I rate this book a 6 out of 10.

Read Full Review of Neversink

Reader Rating for Neversink
86%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 65 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review