Night Asylum by Douglas Clegg

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Welcome to the Night Asylum! Come on in -- join the madness, but don't stay after dark.From Bram Stoker Award-winning novelist, Douglas Clegg, comes 16 tales of horror and suspense, including a bonus novella!

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby, " -- Dean Koontz, NY Times Bestselling author of The Husband, Watchers and Forever Odd.

Enter the Night Asylum to meet:

Mysterious children surrounded by houseflies; a strange woman in a small town stalked by a preacher; boys trying to survive a terrifying boot camp; fraternity brothers who find a deeper brotherhood during a wintry Hell Week; a boy named Charlie, who may have more up his sleeve than meets the eye; a cop named Paul who discovers a tenement that opens the door into a place nightmares -- or heaven; Nix -- a patient in an asylum -- who holds the key to the secret geometry of night itself...and more.

Night Asylum

Table of Contents:

"Where Flies Are Born"

"Becoming Men"

"The Skin of the World"

"People Who Love Life"

"Fries With That?"

"The Machinery of Night"

"The Wicked"

"265 and Heaven"

"Ice Palace"

"Why My Doll is Evil"

"The Five"

"Subway Turnstile"

"Belinda in the Pool"

"The American"

"The Stain"

Bonus Novella: The Attraction

About the Author:

Douglas Clegg's collection The Nightmare Chronicles won both the Bram Stoker Award and the International Horror Guild Award. A novelist with more than 25 books written, he has also written more than 50 short stories, and many of these are collected in the books The Nightmare Chronicles, Wild Things, and this collection, Night Asylum. He is currently writing several short stories and novelettes toward a new collection of short fiction to come in 2013.

Look for other books by Douglas Clegg:

The Children’s Hour
Goat Dance
Dark of the Eye
The Words
Wild Things
Nightmare House
Bad Karma
Red Angel
Night Cage
The Infinite
The Abandoned
The Necromancer
The Hour Before Dark
You Come When I Call You
The Nightmare Chronicles
The Machinery of Night
The Attraction

Praise for Douglas Clegg's Fiction:

"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series.

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."
— Bentley Little, author of The Policy

"Clegg delivers!"
— John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth.

"A master of the genre. Absolutely thrilling! Douglas Clegg is the future of dark fantasy."
— Sherrilyn Kenyon
New York Times bestselling author of the Dark-Hunters.

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction."
— Peter Straub
author of Lost Boy, Lost Girl and the New York Times Bestseller Black House (with Stephen King)

"Clegg is one of the best!"
— Richard Laymon

"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!"
— Robert R. McCammon
author of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird.

About Douglas Clegg

See more books from this Author
Douglas Clegg is the author of many books, including the best sellers Nightmare Chronicles, The Hour Before Dark, The Infinite, and You Come When I Call You. He lives outside Manhattan.
Published November 10, 2012 by Alkemara Press. 313 pages
Genres: Horror, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review