Nights Below Station Street by David Adams Richards

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


David Adams Richards’ Governor General’s Award-winning novel is a powerful tale of resignation and struggle, fierce loyalties and compassion. This book is the first in Richards’ acclaimed Miramichi trilogy. Set in a small mill town in northern New Brunswick, it draws us into the lives of a community of people who live there, including: Joe Walsh, isolated and strong in the face of a drinking problem; his wife, Rita, willing to believe the best about people; and their teenage daughter Adele, whose nature is rebellious and wise, and whose love for her father wars with her desire for independence. Richards’ unforgettable characters are linked together in conflict, and in articulate love and understanding. Their plight as human beings is one we share.

From the Hardcover edition.

About David Adams Richards

See more books from this Author
DAVID ADAMS RICHARDS has received numerous awards and prizes throughout his career, and is one of the few writers in the history of the Governor General's Award to win in the categories of both fiction (Nights Below Station Street) and non-fiction (Lines on the Water).Mercy Among the Childrenwon the Giller Prize in 2000 and was shortlisted for the Governor General's Literary Award and the Trillium Award; it was a Canada Reads pick in 2009.The Friends of Meager Fortune(2006) won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book (Canada and Caribbean). His most recent books areGod Is(2009) and the novelIncidents in the life of Markus Paul(2011).
Published September 1, 2009 by Emblem Editions. 234 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference. Fiction

Reader Rating for Nights Below Station Street

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review