Nightshifted by Cassie Alexander

73%

12 Critic Reviews

Alexander’s zombies are particularly well designed, and the hospital environment adds an intriguing additional dimension.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

From debut author Cassie Alexander comes a spectacular new urban fantasy series where working the nightshift can be a real nightmare. Nothing compares to being Nightshifted.

Nursing school prepared Edie Spence for a lot of things. Burn victims? No problem. Severed limbs? Piece of cake. Vampires? No way in hell. But as the newest nurse on Y4, the secret ward hidden in the bowels of County Hospital, Edie has her hands full with every paranormal patient you can imagine-from vamps and were-things to zombies and beyond...

Edie's just trying to learn the ropes so she can get through her latest shift unscathed. But when a vampire servant turns to dust under her watch, all hell breaks loose. Now she's haunted by the man's dying words-Save Anna-and before she knows it, she's on a mission to rescue some poor girl from the undead. Which involves crashing a vampire den, falling for a zombie, and fighting for her soul. Grey's Anatomy was never like this...

"Cassie Alexander's first book about Nurse Edie Spence is dark and energetic. You'll really enjoy it; I'm looking forward to reading the others in the series."-Charlaine Harris, New York Times bestselling author of The Southern Vampire Mysteries

 

About Cassie Alexander

See more books from this Author
In addition to being a writer, Cassie Alexander is an active registered nurse. Nightshifted is her debut novel. All of her patients are of the human variety…she thinks.
 
Published May 22, 2012 by St. Martin's Paperbacks. 350 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Nightshifted
All: 12 | Positive: 10 | Negative: 2

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
Apr 09 2012

Alexander’s zombies are particularly well designed, and the hospital environment adds an intriguing additional dimension.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Open Book Society

Excellent
Reviewed by Verushka on Jun 15 2012

Edie is an utterly engaging character, and Cassie Alexander has weaved a brilliant tale in this debut novel.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

Vampire Book Club

Good
Reviewed by Chelsea on Jun 20 2012

The merger of dark tone and wry humor make Nightshifted a must read for fans of Jaye Wells, Stacey Jay and Stacia Kane.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

Dark Faerie Tales

Good
Reviewed by Kristie on Jun 22 2012

Nightshifted is a peculiar, fun and dark novel that is an amusing addition to the Urban Fantasy genre.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

All Things Urban Fantasy

Good
Reviewed by Kristina on May 13 2012

Other than my inability to understand zombies as love interests, I really enjoyed the new type of monster mythologies introduced in NIGHTSHIFTED.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

My Bookish Ways

Good
Reviewed by Kristin on May 19 2012

Nightshifted is a very strong start to what promises to be a wonderful new series!

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

The Nocturnal Library

Good
Reviewed by Maja on May 22 2012

All in all, Cassie Alexander skillfully avoided clichés and wrote a book that is fresh, although sometimes hard to digest.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

Clear Eyes, Full Shelves

Good
Reviewed by Sarah on Jul 02 2012

... it is a fresh voice and premise among the crowded shelves of Urban Fantasy...

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

Random Acts of Reviewing

Below average
Reviewed by Brilla on Jul 15 2012

This was not the easiest book to get into for the first few chapters because it almost seemed too much like a hospital drama...

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

Angieville

Good
Reviewed by Angie on Apr 03 2012

And the romantic subplot manages to be quite nice without overwhelming the story or impeding the world building.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

Book Harbinger

Good
Reviewed by Holly on Jul 31 2012

Neither gimmicky or fluffy, Nightshifted is dark urban fantasy with a touch of humor and a tough, unique heroine who transports you to the paranormal wing of Y4.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

Anima Libri

Below average
Jan 22 2012

...it was impossible for me to really get into the story, to really identify myself with Edie and to really enjoy the book.

Read Full Review of Nightshifted

Reader Rating for Nightshifted
74%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 112 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Reetika Mittal

Reetika Mittal 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×