Nine Kinds of Naked by Tony Vigorito

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Cult favorite Tony Vigorito invokes a kind of chaos theory in Nine Kinds of Naked that gleefully turns any expectation of time, space, or plot on its head.
 
"Chaos theory says that a tiny, almost imperceptible event can have large, even catastrophic coincidences: a butterfly flapping its wings in North America leads to a hurricane on another continent, for example. In this fictional take on chaos theory, several offbeat characters are linked by a single event that expands through time, sweeping them up in it and changing their lives. A traveler works a nifty trick with a playing card, and a tornado strikes a small Illinois town; a woman is born during the tornado and later meets the man who set it in motion; 1,200 years earlier, a man who is supposed to be stoned to death discovers he has an uncanny knack for surviving; and, back in the present day, another man speaks only in the present tense. Comparisons of this novel to the works of Tom Robbins are both obvious and appropriate: the story meanders around in an entertaining manner, never getting too serious about itself; the characters are splendidly loopy, close to caricature but never quite reaching it, and the situations in which they find themselves are comic, dramatic, and everything in between."--Booklist (20080901)
 

About Tony Vigorito

See more books from this Author
TONY VIGORITO’s first novel, Just a Couple of Days, is a cult classic that was republished by Harcourt in 2007. A former professor who earned a Ph.D. at Ohio State University and taught social theory at Ohio University and Antioch College, he now lives in Austin, Texas. Visit www.TonyVigorito.com.
 
Published October 6, 2008 by Mariner Books. 416 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Nine Kinds of Naked

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

In the tradition of Douglas Adams and Tom Robbins, much of the book is given over to philosophic musings about the connection among all things: “…all physical sensation was overwhelmed by the fundamental vibration of being, shining like the sun and chiming like a chorus of nightingales as her sel...

| Read Full Review of Nine Kinds of Naked

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Fans of Vigorito’s originally self-published 2007 cult hit Just a Couple of Days will have a ball with this hyperactive, zany novel.

Aug 04 2008 | Read Full Review of Nine Kinds of Naked

Examiner

The underground success of Tony Vigorito’s self-published 2001 novel, Just a Couple of Days, established Vigorito as a master of contradiction.

Apr 05 2009 | Read Full Review of Nine Kinds of Naked

Bookmarks Magazine

Publisher: Mariner Books Product Description Cult favorite Tony Vigorito invokes a kind of chaos theory in Nine Kinds of Naked that gleefully turns any expectation of time, space, or plot on its head.
<b...

Nov 16 2008 | Read Full Review of Nine Kinds of Naked

Reader Rating for Nine Kinds of Naked
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 58 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×