No Bones by Anna Burns

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A shattering and blackly funny debut in the tradition of Roddy Doyle, No Bones follows a young woman growing up in a Belfast beset by the Troubles.

This is a book about feelings, family, sex, and Ireland—but don't tell Amelia that. She's the one growing up in the mad family, in the mad society, who doesn't want to know what's going on. But things are going on: eight-year-olds collecting very peculiar treasure; babies who might be, or might not be, bombs; schoolgirls bringing guns into schoolyards; and, of course, lots of food and bad, bad sex. If Amelia is to live she needs to change. Can she, though, in a place where people don't know how to look after themselves, and so wouldn't know how to look after one another?
 

About Anna Burns

See more books from this Author
Anna Burns was born in Belfast in 1962 and moved to London in 1987.
 
Published June 18, 2001 by Flamingo. 336 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for No Bones

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

middle daughter Amelia drops out of school and takes refuge in alcohol, anorexia, and boys, while father and mother alternate from extreme brutality to utter indifference.

| Read Full Review of No Bones

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Burns does well in the early going as she captures the tainted innocence of Amelia's early childhood, but her narrative turns lurid during a lengthy passage describing how escapees from a mental home wind up in the middle of the fighting and then end up hanging out with Amelia.

| Read Full Review of No Bones

Reader Rating for No Bones
57%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 10 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×