No One Writes to the Colonel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
and Other Stories (Perennial Classics)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Nobel Laureate Gabriel Garcia Marquez, author of "One Hundred Years of Solitude" and "Love in the Time of Cholera", tells a powerful tale of poverty and undying hope in his moving novel "No One Writes to the Colonel". 'The Colonel took the top off the coffee can and saw that there was only one spoonful left'. Fridays are different. Every other day of the week, the Colonel and his ailing wife fight a constant battle against poverty and monotony, scraping together the dregs of their savings for the food and medicine that keeps them alive. But on Fridays the postman comes - and that sets a fleeting wave of hope rushing through the Colonel's ageing heart. For fifteen years he's watched the mail launch come into harbour, hoping he'll be handed an envelope containing the army pension promised to him all those years ago. Whilst he waits for the cheque, his hopes are pinned on his prize bird and the upcoming cockfighting season. But until then the bird - like the Colonel and his wife - must somehow be fed..."Marquez writes in this lyrical, magical language that no one else can do". (Salman Rushie). "Masterly. He dazzles us with powerful effect". ("New Statesman"). "One of this century's most evocative writers". (Anne Tyler). As one of the pioneers of magic realism and perhaps the most prominent voice of Latin American literature, Gabriel Garcia Marquez has received international recognition for his novels, works of non-fiction and collections of short stories. Those published in translation by Penguin include "Autumn of the Patriarch", "Bon Voyage Mr. President", "Chronicle of a Death Foretold", "Collected Stories", "The General in his Labyrinth", "In Evil Hour", Innocent Erendira and Other Stories, Leaf Storm, Living to Tell the Tale, Love in the Time of Cholera, "Memories of My Melancholy Whores", "News of a Kidnapping", "Of Love and Other Demons", "The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor" and "Strange Pilgrims".

About Gabriel Garcia Marquez

See more books from this Author
Gabriel García Márquez was born in Colombia in 1927. His many books include The Autumn of the Patriarch; No One Writes to the Colonel; Love in the Time of Cholera; a memoir, Living to Tell the Tale; and, most recently, a novel, Memories of My Melancholy Whores. Gabriel García Márquez was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982.
Published September 1, 1968 by Harper & Row. 170 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for No One Writes to the Colonel

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Those (guessably not the general reader) who do not find the labyrinthine configurations of Senor Garcia-Marquez' mighty myth impregnable, and at times interminable, will be rewarded by this story of one hundred years and six generations in the peaceful, primal and ageless world of Macondo.

Sep 30 2011 | Read Full Review of No One Writes to the Colonel:...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The characters of the stories, the inhabitants of the town of Macondo include Big Mamma, the absolute sovereign of the area whose much-delayed funeral is attended by the Supreme Pontiff;

Sep 30 2011 | Read Full Review of No One Writes to the Colonel:...

Reader Rating for No One Writes to the Colonel

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review