Nobu by Nobu Matsuhisa
A Memoir

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Though now associated with a global brand that includes hotels, he still remains the man who seeks nothing more than to spread the spirit of omotenashi, or Japanese hospitality, and “make my guests smile.” A simple, straightforward memoir sure to please both Nobu fans and Japanese cuisine lovers.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

“In this outstanding memoir, chef and restaurateur Matsuhisa...shares lessons in humility, gratitude, and empathy that will stick with readers long after they’ve finished the final chapter.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A fascinating and unique memoir by the acclaimed celebrity chef and international restaurateur, Nobu, as he divulges both his dramatic life story and reflects on the philosophy and passion that has made him one of the world’s most widely respected Japanese fusion culinary artists.

Nobu needs no introduction. One of the world’s most widely acclaimed restaurateurs, his influence on food and hospitality can be found at the highest levels of haute-cuisine to the food trucks you frequent during the work week—this is the Nobu that the public knows.

But now, we are finally introduced to the private Nobu: the man who failed three times before starting the restaurant that would grow into an empire; the man who credits the love and support of his wife and children as the only thing keeping him from committing suicide when his first restaurant burned down; and the man who values the busboy who makes sure each glass is crystal clear as highly as the chef who slices the fish for Omakase perfectly.

What makes Nobu special, and what made him famous, is the spirit of what exists on these pages. He has the traditional Japanese perspective that there is great pride to be found in every element of doing a job well—no matter how humble that job is. Furthermore, he shows us repeatedly that success is as much about perseverance in the face of adversity as it is about innate talent.

Not just for serious foodies, this inspiring memoir is perfect for fans of Marie Kondo’s The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and Danny Meyer’s Setting the Table. Nobu’s writing does what he does best—it marries the philosophies of East and West to create something entirely new and remarkable.
 

About Nobu Matsuhisa

See more books from this Author
 
Published November 7, 2017 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books. 224 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Humor & Entertainment, Cooking. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Nobu
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Aug 28 2017

Though now associated with a global brand that includes hotels, he still remains the man who seeks nothing more than to spread the spirit of omotenashi, or Japanese hospitality, and “make my guests smile.” A simple, straightforward memoir sure to please both Nobu fans and Japanese cuisine lovers.

Read Full Review of Nobu: A Memoir | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review
×