North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
(Penguin Popular Classics)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

For those that are like me and prefer to avoid classics, I can assure the readability of North and South. I didn’t feel as bogged down by dry language, as I have with other books I’ve tried. For fans of Pride and Prejudice, the love/hate relationship between Margaret and John will be right up your alley.
-All About Romance

Synopsis

`she tried to settle that most difficult problem for women, how much was to be utterly merged in obedience to authority, and how much might be set apart for freedom in working.'

North and South is a novel about rebellion. Moving from the industrial riots of discontented millworkers through to the unsought passions of a middle-class woman, and from religious crises of conscience to the ethics of naval mutiny, it poses fundamental questions about the nature of social authority and obedience.

Through the story of Margaret Hale, the middle-class southerner who moves to the northern industrial town of Milton, Gaskell skilfully explores issues of class and gender in the conflict between Margaret's ready sympathy with the workers and her growing attraction to the charismatic mill ownder, John Thornton. This new revised and expanded edition sets the novel in the context of Victorian social and medical debate.
ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
 

About Elizabeth Gaskell

See more books from this Author
Elizabeth Gaskell (1810-65) moved from the London of her childhood to Knutsford, on which the fictional town of Cranford is modelled, and later Manchester. Writer of six novels, numerous shorter works and the biography of her great friend Charlotte Bront , Gaskell was at first published anonymously but later in her own name. Much of her work was serialised in Charles Dickens's widely-read literary weekly, Household Words. Gaskell's other novels Mary Barton, North and South and Wives and Daughters are also published in the Penguin English Library.
 
Published April 5, 2016 by Oxford University Press, UK. 591 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction, Romance, Religion & Spirituality, Education & Reference, Comics & Graphic Novels, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Political & Social Sciences, Children's Books. Non-fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Have Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for North and South
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Ben East on Dec 16 2012

Gaskell's priorities lay with storytelling. Margaret is torn from the bucolic surroundings of Hampshire in classic fish-out-of-water style...to make the course of true love run a little less smooth. All of which makes North and South far too long.

Read Full Review of North and South (Penguin Popu... | See more reviews from Guardian

All About Romance

Excellent
Reviewed by Haley Kral on Aug 19 2014

For those that are like me and prefer to avoid classics, I can assure the readability of North and South. I didn’t feel as bogged down by dry language, as I have with other books I’ve tried. For fans of Pride and Prejudice, the love/hate relationship between Margaret and John will be right up your alley.

Read Full Review of North and South (Penguin Popu... | See more reviews from All About Romance

Reader Rating for North and South
84%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 766 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

User Review

Malinda Charter 27 Jan 2014

Rated the book as 3 out of 5

Malinda Charter

Malinda Charter 27 Jan 2014

Has read the book