Not As We Know It by Tom Avery

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of David Almond’s Skellig and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, here is a lyrical, atmospheric, and deeply emotional middle-grade novel with a touch of magical realism.
 
Twins Jamie and Ned do everything together, from watching their favorite show, Star Trek, to riding their bikes, to beachcombing after a storm. But Ned is sick with cystic fibrosis, and he may someday leave Jamie behind. One day the boys find a strange animal on the beach: smooth flesh on one end, scales at the other, and short arms and legs with long webbed fingers and toes. Could it be a merman, like in the old stories Granddad tells?
 
Together, the boys name the creature Leonard and decide to hide him in a tub in their garage. But . . . why is Leonard here? Jamie hopes he might bring some miracle that will stop his brother from going where he can no longer follow. But Ned, who grows closer to Leonard every day, doesn’t seem to be getting any better. . . .

"A heartrending but ultimately uplifting adventure novel for readers ready for a good cry." —School Library Journal, Starred
 

About Tom Avery

See more books from this Author
TOM AVERY, as one of only forty-one people in history to have reached both the North and South poles on foot, is one of the brightest stars amongst the new generation of young explorers. Tom holds several exploration world records and is listed in the Guinness Book of Records for leading “the fastest surface journey to the North Pole.” He lives in Wimbledon, England.
 
Published August 23, 2016 by Schwartz & Wade. 176 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Not As We Know It

Gr 4–6—Brothers Ned and Jamie are treasure hunters. Granted, all they find in their tiny fishing village off the coast of England are old fish hooks and forks. Nonetheless, they consider themselves adventurers like the characters on their favorite show, Star Trek. But the boys couldn't be any mor...

Jun 01 2016 | Read Full Review of Not As We Know It
×