Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

The byplay between Parker and her friends is believable, and in creating a heroine whose drive for independence brings both risks and rewards, Lindstrom adds a note of complexity to his gripping depiction of how Parker learns to trust and forgive.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

In the tradition of Gayle Forman and John Green comes this extraordinary YA debut about a blind teen girl navigating life and love in high school.
Parker Grant doesn't need 20/20 vision to see right through you. That's why she created the Rules: Don't treat her any differently just because she's blind, and never take advantage. There will be no second chances. Just ask Scott Kilpatrick, the boy who broke her heart.

When Scott suddenly reappears in her life after being gone for years, Parker knows there's only one way to react--shun him so hard it hurts. She has enough on her mind already, like trying out for the track team (that's right, her eyes don't work but her legs still do), doling out tough-love advice to her painfully naive classmates, and giving herself gold stars for every day she hasn't cried since her dad's death three months ago. But avoiding her past quickly proves impossible, and the more Parker learns about what really happened--both with Scott, and her dad--the more she starts to question if things are always as they seem. Maybe, just maybe, some Rules are meant to be broken.
Combining a fiercely engaging voice with true heart, debut author Eric Lindstrom's Not If I See You First illuminates those blind spots that we all have in life, whether visually impaired or not.
 

About Eric Lindstrom

See more books from this Author
Eric Lindstrom is a BAFTA and WGA-nominated veteran of the interactive entertainment industry. Not If I See You First is his debut novel. Eric invites you to find him online at ericlindstrombooks.com and on Twitter @Eric_Lindstrom.
 
Published December 1, 2015 by Poppy. 320 pages
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Not If I See You First
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Sep 16 2015

Parker herself does not escape analysis (or sympathy), ultimately confronting her problems through what others reveal. An unflinching exploration of trust, friendship, and grief.

Read Full Review of Not If I See You First | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Apr 03 2016

The byplay between Parker and her friends is believable, and in creating a heroine whose drive for independence brings both risks and rewards, Lindstrom adds a note of complexity to his gripping depiction of how Parker learns to trust and forgive.

Read Full Review of Not If I See You First | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for Not If I See You First
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 75 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review