Nothing Serious by Daniel Klein

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...a rollicking farce...a tightly plotted comedic tale with a genuine emotional center and a sharp satirical wit.
-NY Journal of Books


Stoned out of his skull!

This is how we find washed-up New York Magazine writer, Digby Maxwell, when he is offered his last chance to redeem himself by becoming editor of a small philosophy magazine headquartered in a rural Vermont college town.

Digby's assignment: to make the philosophy magazine relevant to contemporary culture. For starters, that requires several more tokes. Very deep tokes.

A wildly witty novel in the tradition of J.P Donleavy and Nick Hornsby, Nothing Serious takes serious pot shots at Manhattan pop culture and academic small-mindedness, sexual obsessions and political correctness, 21st century alienation and philosophers ranging from Aristotle to Sartre.

About Daniel Klein

See more books from this Author
After majoring in philosophy at Harvard, Tom and Dan pursued the usual philosophical careers. Tom was a probation officer, worked with street gangs in Chicago, did similar work with doctors for Blue Cross and Blue Shield, and was COO of a hospital, all the while going to and dropping out of various divinity schools. His essay, "The Ontological Argument Works! (sort of)" appeared recently in Theology Today. Meantime, Dan wrote jokes for various comedians, including Flip Wilson and Lily Tomlin, designed stunts for Candid Camera, co-created the board game, 'Group Therapy', and then settled down to the literary life, ghost writing a best-selling sex manual and penning several thrillers and mysteries, including the Elvis Presley detective series. In addition to "Heidegger and a Hippo Walk through Those Pearly Gates," Tom and Dan have written the New York Times bestseller, "Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar," "Aristotle and an Aardvark Go to Washington," and the politically-incorrect book of daily affirmations, "Macho Meditations." Tom lives with his wife on Cape Cod, Dan with his wife in the Berkshire Mountains.
Published April 1, 2013 by The Permanent Press. 209 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Nothing Serious
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

NY Journal of Books

Reviewed by Karl Wolff on Apr 11 2013

...a rollicking farce...a tightly plotted comedic tale with a genuine emotional center and a sharp satirical wit.

Read Full Review of Nothing Serious | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Reader Rating for Nothing Serious

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review