Nudge by Richard H. Thaler
Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 9 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions
 
More than 750,000 copies sold
 
New York Times bestseller
An Economist Best Book of the Year
Financial Times Best Book of the Year

Nudge is about choices—how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make—ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources—and show us how sensible “choice architecture” can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining—a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.
 

About Richard H. Thaler

See more books from this Author
Richard H. Thaler is the Ralph and Dorothy Keller Distinguished Service Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics and the director of the Center for Decision Research at the University of Chicago's Graduate School of Business.Cass R. Sunstein is Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law at Harvard Law School.
 
Published February 24, 2009 by Penguin Books. 320 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Health, Fitness & Dieting, Science & Math, Political & Social Sciences, Education & Reference, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Nudge

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

Their entire line of argument — that people frequently make decisions that are not in their own best interest, that often “free markets and open competition will tend to exacerbate rather than mitigate the effects of human frailty,” and especially that in many important contexts “it is pointless ...

Aug 22 2008 | Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

The main insight from which Thaler and Sunstein proceed is that no decision setting is “neutral.” Whether it’s a restaurant laying out food or a business offering its employees a list of mutual funds in its 401(k) plan or the government presenting different Medicare options, whoever presents choi...

Aug 22 2008 | Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth and Happiness by Richard H Thaler and Cass R Sunstein Find this on the Guardian bookshop Search the Guardian bookshop ...

Apr 12 2009 | Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness Richard Thaler and Cass Sunstein Yale £18, pp293 One of the many competitive advantages American public intellectuals have over their British counterparts is the ability to capture their thesis in a single word: Chaos, Sway, Faste...

Jul 20 2008 | Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

Suite 101

A quick-reference English dictionary and thesaurus in new paperback editions from Oxford are fully revised and excellent value for money.

Oct 13 2009 | Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

The Bookbag

Summary: Nudge shows how knowledge about the imperfections of human reasoning and decision making can be integrated with the orthodox economical model providing a readable introduction to behavioural economics.

Oct 24 2009 | Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

The New York Review of Books

Thaler and Sunstein cite charitable organizations that ask, in their circulars, for a donation of “$100, and $150, $1,000, $5,000.” The fundraisers know that few people will give $5,000, but by presenting this set of options rather than, say, “$50, $75, $100, and $150,” they manipulate people int...

Jun 12 2008 | Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

Red State

Blacks are just going to take it in the chops….Their programs are going to get eviscerated and affirmative action is going to go right down the tubes…Politics have moved right because a lot of middle-class people thought they were taking my money and giving it to poor black people, and they didn’...

May 09 2010 | Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

Mises Institute

If people want to smoke cigarettes, to eat a lot of candy, to choose an unsuitable health care plan, or to fail to save for retirement, libertarian paternalists will not force them to do otherwise — or even make things hard for them… A nudge, as we will use the term, is any aspect of the choice a...

| Read Full Review of Nudge: Improving Decisions Ab...

Reader Rating for Nudge
64%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 337 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×