Obsidian Mirror by Catherine Fisher
( - Trilogy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

Fisher’s writing here is uneven, sometimes clumsy...
-NY Times

Synopsis

The obsidian mirror. Its power is great and terrible. Men have been lost in it, the dead brought back to life through it, and the future annihilated by it. Or this is what will happen unless the mirror is destroyed. Three people seek the mirror: the first has been sent from the future to shatter its power; the second will protect the mirror at all costs, obsessed with its power; and the third needs the mirror to find a murdered father and save his life. But only one can succeed.

The mirror can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.

With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre, Catherine Fisher. Fans of Orson Scott Card, Dr. Who, Shakespeare, and Blade Runner won't be disappointed.
 

About Catherine Fisher

See more books from this Author
Catherine Fisher was born in Newport, Wales in 1957. She graduated from the University of Wales with a degree in English. She is a fantasy writer and poet. Her books include The Conjuror's Game, The Snow-Walker's Son, and Sapphique. She also writes the Book of the Crow series and the Relic Master series. She has won numerous awards including the WAC Young Writers' Prize for Immrama in 1989 and the Mythopoeic Society of America's Children's Fiction Award for Incarceron in 2007. She has worked in education and archaeology and as a lecturer in creative writing at the University of Glamorgan.
 
Published April 23, 2013 by Firebird. 379 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Obsidian Mirror
All: 3 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 2

NY Times

Below average
Reviewed by Sophie Gee on Apr 11 2013

Fisher’s writing here is uneven, sometimes clumsy...

Read Full Review of Obsidian Mirror (Obsidian Mir... | See more reviews from NY Times

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by SophieScribe on Dec 28 2012

This is the sort of book that I devour, rather than read, and I am sure it will be for you too. With lashings of mystery, time travel and spooky horror, it's sure to appeal to anybody, child or adult, who likes fantasy and science fiction.

Read Full Review of Obsidian Mirror (Obsidian Mir... | See more reviews from Guardian

Kirkus

Below average
on Feb 19 2013

Unfortunately, so much time is spent crafting the pattern and atmosphere of the intersecting threads that readers are left befuddled as to what, precisely—if anything—actually happens over the course of the plot.

Read Full Review of Obsidian Mirror (Obsidian Mir... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Obsidian Mirror
79%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 41 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×