Oeuvres de René Descartes by René Descartes
(French Edition)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


6 Oeuvres de René Descartes

Ce livre numérique présente une collection des oeuvres majeures de René Descartes éditées en texte intégral. Une table des matières dynamique permet d'accéder directement aux différentes oeuvres.

Liste des oeuvres:

- Correspondance
- Discours de la méthode
- Les méditations
- Les météores
- Les passions de l'âme
- Principes de Philosophie - Préface

About René Descartes

See more books from this Author
Best known for the quote from his Meditations de prima philosophia, or Meditations on First Philosophy (1641), "I think therefore I am," philosopher and mathematician Rene Descartes also devoted much of his time to the studies of medicine, anatomy and meteorology. Part of his Discourse on the Method for Rightly Conducting One's Reason and Searching for the Truth in the Sciences (1637) became the foundation for analytic geometry. Descartes is also credited with designing a machine to grind hyperbolic lenses, as part of his interest in optics. Rene Descartes was born in 1596 in La Haye, France. He began his schooling at a Jesuit college before going to Paris to study mathematics and to Poitiers in 1616 to study law. He served in both the Dutch and Bavarian military and settled in Holland in 1629. In 1649, he moved to Stockholm to be a philosophy tutor to Queen Christina of Sweden. He died there in 1650. Because of his general fame and philosophic study of the existence of God, some devout Catholics, thinking he would be canonized a saint, collected relics from his body as it was being transported to France for burial.
Published April 26, 2012 by Editions la Bibliothèque Digitale. 210 pages
Genres: Law & Philosophy.

Rate this book!

Add Review