Olive's Perfect World by Jennifer Plecas
A Friendship Story

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Bibliotherapy with its heart in the right place, though a little underdone.


Three's not always a crowd in this book about friendship (and the chicken dance!)
Little kittens Olive and Emily have always been friends, ever since they were little. But now Emily has a new friend, and it makes Olive feel left out—especially when she realizes all of the things that Emily and her new friend Eva have in common--like ballet, and eating the same lunch, and wearing the same bows in their hair. Olive imagines her perfect world, where she and Emily can be friends without Eva there at all.  But in the end, Olive realizes that being friends is about more than having things in common: it's about having fun together and cheering each other up when you're sad. It turns out that Olive's perfect world is the world that she's living in, where she, Emily and Eva can all be friends. (And dance the chicken dance together!)

This book is perfect for fans of Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy, as well as kids whose friendships are changing and maturing as they enter kindergarten and elementary school.

Jennifer Plecas is the author and illustrator of the book Pretend, and the illustrator of Good Night, Good Knight by Shelley Moore, and Please is a Good Word To Say and Love is a Good Thing to Feel by Barbara Joosse, among others.

About Jennifer Plecas

See more books from this Author
Jennifer Plecas has illustrated more than thirty books for children including the popular Good Night, Good Knight series. Pretend was the first book she both wrote and illustrated. She lives outside of Kansas City, Missouri with her husband and two children. www.jenniferplecas.com
Published July 11, 2013 by Philomel Books. 32 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Olive's Perfect World
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1


Above average
on May 02 2013

Bibliotherapy with its heart in the right place, though a little underdone.

Read Full Review of Olive's Perfect World: A Frie... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review