Olivia Saves the Circus by Ian Falconer

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 13 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Olivia remembers her trip to the circus very well. The performers were out sick, so she had to do everything. She...

rode on a unicycle
jumped on a trampoline
juggled five balls
tamed lions
flew through the air

Step into the ring with Olivia, where the lights are dim, the color soft, and a little girl's imagination is the main attraction. Now available as an eBook with audio!
 

About Ian Falconer

See more books from this Author
Ian Falconer is a writer and artist who has illustrated many covers of The New Yorker magazine. He has also designed sets and costumes for the New York City Ballet, the San Francisco Opera, and the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, among others. Olivia, his first children's picture book, garnered many awards. Falconer has published several more picture books about the charismatic pig Olivia including Olivia Saves the Circus, Olivia Forms a Band, Olivia Helps With Chrismas, and Olivia Goes to Venice. Ian has been awarded much recognition for his children's books including the Caldecott Honor Book, ALA Notable Children's Books, and School Library Journal Best of the Best Books. Falconer also illustrated Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary by author David Sedaris.
 
Published November 16, 2010 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers. 36 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Could there be a more ideal place for Olivia than in the center ring under the Big Top? It will come as no surprise to her many fans that this is how Olivia claims to have spent her summer vacation

Aug 27 2001 | Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

So it’s hard to hear her growing litany of demands, as well as the “edge of hysteria in her voice” when she begs, “Oh, please — Oh, Please, Mother — can’t we live in a palazzo on the Grand Canal?” (Apparently no one has told Olivia that we’re in a recession — and that Venice isn’t the only place ...

Jan 14 2011 | Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

It's not enough for Olivia just to go to the circus. She has to take over for all the performers -- or so she says.

Nov 18 2001 | Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

After demonstrating that she could perform in not one but all of the star attractions under the Big Top in Olivia Saves the Circus , the hoofed heroine here proves that she can be a one-piglet band.

Apr 03 2006 | Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Falconer, with his background as a set designer, transports the audience to 14th-century Verona and Peking, China (""long long ago"") with ease, and leaves no detail untapped: a Playbill (with a cover scene aficionados will recognize from the heroine's debut, Olivia) gives a synopsis, a ""Who's w...

| Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

And while other dancers compete to become a fairy princess ballerina, Olivia opines, “I’m trying to develop a more stark, modern style,” letting loose with a series of dramatic poses in a stretchy charcoal-gray fabric tube (the book’s dedication: “With deepest apologies to Martha Graham...

Jun 04 2012 | Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Against a completely white background, these vignettes seem to bob on invisible undulating waves, with the intermittent splashes of red creating a sense of movement and urgency-until Olivia's collapse at the lower right-hand corner of the spread beneath a single line of text (""She even wears her...

| Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The attractive black, white and salmon-pink slipcover holds Olivia-a 2001 Caldecott Honor book-and Olivia Saves the Circus plus a laminated poster of the red stockings-clad starlet in a quartet of ballet poses, suitable for framing.

| Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

(A clue appears in the lower right-hand corner of the illustration, where the toy is last seen.) It won't give away the fun to say that Perry—the spotted, panting pooch introduced in Olivia and who bears a certain resemblance to the sidekicks in the "Madame Olivia and her Trained Dogs" act in Oli...

| Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Children's NOTES Learn with Olivia What better way for toddlers to learn the basics than with two board books starring Ian Falconer's Olivia?

| Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Using the same day-in-the-life format as his show-stopping debut (Olivia), Falconer shows Olivia making pancakes for her two brothers (including new addition William) before school.

| Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

USA Today

Fans of Falconer's Olivia, Olivia Saves the Circus and Olivia and the Missing Toy will be in hog heaven now that the most precious of pigs has taken to the stage.

| Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Birmingham Public Library

“If everyone’s a princess, then princesses aren’t special anymore!” So what will she be?

Dec 22 2012 | Read Full Review of Olivia Saves the Circus

Reader Rating for Olivia Saves the Circus
79%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 184 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×