On Sal Mal Lane by Ru Freeman
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

“On Sal Mal Lane” takes place over the five years (1979-83) auguring Sri Lanka’s 26-year civil war, and Freeman brings the particularities of that strife to vivid life...
-NY Times

Synopsis

In the tradition of In the Time of the Butterflies and The Kite Runner, a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war

* A Library Journal Best Indie Fiction of 2013 * A Largehearted Boy Best Book of the Year *

On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As the neighbors adapt to the newcomers in different ways, the children fill their days with cricket matches, romantic crushes, and small rivalries. But the tremors of civil war are mounting, and the conflict threatens to engulf them all.
In a heartrending novel poised between the past and the future, the innocence of the children—a beloved sister and her overprotective siblings, a rejected son and his twin sisters, two very different brothers—contrasts sharply with the petty prejudices of the adults charged with their care. In Ru Freeman's masterful hands, On Sal Mal Lane, a story of what was lost to a country and her people, becomes a resounding cry for reconciliation.

 

About Ru Freeman

See more books from this Author
Ru Freeman is the author of A Disobedient Girl. She is an activist and journalist whose work appears internationally. She calls both Sri Lanka and America home and lives in Bala Cynwyd, PA.
 
Published May 14, 2013 by Graywolf Press. 424 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, History. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for On Sal Mal Lane
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

NY Times

Good
Reviewed by Cristina GarcÍa on Jun 21 2013

“On Sal Mal Lane” takes place over the five years (1979-83) auguring Sri Lanka’s 26-year civil war, and Freeman brings the particularities of that strife to vivid life...

Read Full Review of On Sal Mal Lane: A Novel | See more reviews from NY Times

Star Tribune

Good
Reviewed by Malcolm Forbes on May 11 2013

“On Sal Mal Lane” succeeds because it thrums with vitality. On this one street we can find life in all its joy and pain, life lived by people who are so alive.

Read Full Review of On Sal Mal Lane: A Novel | See more reviews from Star Tribune

Reader Rating for On Sal Mal Lane
74%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 52 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×