One Good Egg by Suzy Becker
An Illustrated Memoir

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

A humorous, poignant, delightfully illustrated memoir about finally making the Baby Decision—and making the baby.

For the first twenty-three years of her life, Suzy Becker was sure she would have at least two babies. Then it took her fifteen years to resolve to go ahead and have just one. One Good Egg is a funny, warmhearted, twenty-first century tale of making a family, illustrated with hundreds of her witty cartoons, clippings, charts, and pseudographs.

When Suzy Becker finally decided she had everything she needed—the home, the savings, the friends, the family, and the gumption—to have a baby alone, she was thirty-nine, which catapulted her into the ranks of the six million other American women who need medical help to conceive. In One Good Egg, she chronicles her travels through the maze of fertility treatments, considering and reconsidering how far she was willing to go and inwardly convinced none of it would ever work. Five months after she learned she was pregnant, Suzy got married.

While none of us can adequately plan or prepare for certain realities like giving birth or parenthood, Suzy Becker’s One Good Egg reminds us we are not alone on our journeys.
 

About Suzy Becker

See more books from this Author
Author, artist, educator, and entrepreneur Suzy Becker began her career as an award-winning advertising copywriter, and then founded the Widget Factory, a greeting card company. She entered the world of books with what would become the internationally bestselling All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat, and has since written and illustrated several award winning books for both children and adults including My Dog's the World's Best Dog; I Had Brain Surgery, What's Your Excuse?, Manny's Cows; Books Are for Reading; and Kids Make It Better. Her books, greeting cards, and works in print and TV advertising have earned her numerous design and writing awards. She lives with her family, a dog, and a formerly feral cat in central Massachusetts. Visit her Web site at www.suzybecker.com.
 
Published July 16, 2013 by Bloomsbury USA. 224 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Humor & Entertainment, Parenting & Relationships. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for One Good Egg

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Following in the tradition of James Thurber and Jules Feiffer, best-selling author/illustrator Becker (Kids Make It Better: A Write-in, Draw-in Journal, 2010, etc.) combines droll illustrations with a lively narrative style in this chronicle of the high expectations and shatteri...

Mar 06 2013 | Read Full Review of One Good Egg: An Illustrated ...

Reader Rating for One Good Egg
100%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 22 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×