One Moment by Kristina McBride

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Following on the heels of her "must-read" debut novel (New York Times best-selling author Jay Asher) One Moment is perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman.

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below–dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

The latest novel from the author of The Tension of Opposites, One Moment is a mysterious, searing look at how an instant can change everything you believe about the world around you.

Praise for One Moment:

"Infused with page-turning mystery, One Moment is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic."—Cat Patrick, author of Forgotten and Revived

"One Moment took my breath away. Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages."—Lauren Barnholdt, author of Two-Way Street

A page-tuner that grabbed me by the throat, and was impossible to put down!"—Katrina Kittle, author of Reasons to Be Happy

"Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"McBride (The Tension of Opposites) skillfully interweaves Maggie’s flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery."—Publishers Weekly

About Kristina McBride

See more books from this Author
Kristina McBride is a former English teacher and yearbook advisor. She's published one previous novel, The Tension of Opposites, which the Deseret News called "engrossing and fascinating, painful and hopeful." She lives in Ohio with her husband and two children. Visit her online at
Published June 26, 2012 by EgmontUSA. 272 pages
Genres: Romance, Young Adult.

Unrated Critic Reviews for One Moment

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Maggie Reynolds is eagerly planning the summer before her senior year, which will include hanging out with her best friends Shannon, Tanna, and Adam, and losing her virginity to Joey, her boyfriend of

May 07 2012 | Read Full Review of One Moment

A Patchwork of Books

Because no one will like their blog or their book unless people that enjoy it are willing to spread the word.The reason I do trust reviews is that after reading a book I go back and look at reviews and for the most part the readers do get it right, barring the extremes.Again, it's the sample page...

Jan 28 2008 | Read Full Review of One Moment

Reader Rating for One Moment

An aggregated and normalized score based on 69 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review