One Second After by William R. Forstchen

81%

11 Critic Reviews

...the tale is riveting. It looks glaringly at the possibility of the loss of life, civility, and starting over.
-Examiner

Synopsis

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.


Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.



At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

 

About William R. Forstchen

See more books from this Author
William R. Forstchen is the author of We Look Like Men of War, among numerous other books in diverse subjects ranging from history to science fiction. He has co-authored several books with Newt Gingrich, including Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War, Pearl Harbor, Days of Infamy, To Try Men’s Souls and Valley Forge. Forstchen holds a Ph.D. in History from Purdue University, with specializations in military history and the history of technology. He is currently a Faculty Fellow and Professor of History at Montreat College, near Asheville North Carolina. He is a pilot and flies an original WWII recon "warbird." He resides near Asheville with his daughter Meghan.
 
Published April 26, 2011 by Forge Books. 364 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Horror. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for One Second After
All: 11 | Positive: 9 | Negative: 2

Publishers Weekly

Below average
on Jan 12 2009

...the material sometimes threatens to veer into jingoism, and heartstrings are tugged a little too vigorously...

Read Full Review of One Second After | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Examiner

Good
on Dec 15 2009

...the tale is riveting. It looks glaringly at the possibility of the loss of life, civility, and starting over.

Read Full Review of One Second After

Examiner

Excellent
Reviewed by Mary Daugherty on Jun 08 2009

...powerful, gut wrenching and frighteningly plausible story! Forstchen writes a story that every American should read.

Read Full Review of One Second After

Suite 101

Below average
on Jan 05 2010

For readers wanting a novel with significant literary merit, this will not suffice.

Read Full Review of One Second After

SF Site

Excellent
Reviewed by Gil T. Wilson on Apr 06 2013

With the forward written by Newt Gingrich and the afterword written by Capt. Bill Sanders, USN, the reality of this situation really hits home. Not a matter of "if" but "when" it will happen.

Read Full Review of One Second After

About.com Bestsellers

Excellent
Reviewed by Russell Miller on Apr 06 2013

Graphically alerts us to the dangers of an attack many are not even aware exists.

Read Full Review of One Second After

Military.com

Excellent
on Oct 26 2009

One Second After is probably the most frightening book that I've read all year, and I've read quite a bit of Stephen King and miscellaneous zombie fiction lately.

Read Full Review of One Second After

The Army Rumour Service

Excellent
Reviewed by TheIronDuke on Apr 06 2013

Scary as hell...Read it. Then wake up at 04.00 and worry.

Read Full Review of One Second After

Scholars And Rogues

Excellent
Reviewed by Chris Mackowski on Jul 07 2009

Although the book may be a warning first, it’s a compelling piece of fiction in its own right. The characters are well-crafted and add dramatic weight to the story.

Read Full Review of One Second After

EssenceArticles

Above average
on Apr 15 2012

It is very thought provoking with very believable scenarios...

Read Full Review of One Second After

Guys Lit Wire

Good
Reviewed by Ben on May 07 2009

It is a brutal and unflinching chronicle of a dark future...

Read Full Review of One Second After

Reader Rating for One Second After
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8868 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Ann Caswell

Ann Caswell 20 Jul 2015

Added the book to want to read list

×