Opened Ground by Seamus Heaney
Selected Poems, 1966-1996

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



As selected by the author, Opened Ground includes the essential work from Heaney's twelve previous books of poetry, as well as new sequences drawn from two of his landmark translations, The Cure at Troy and Sweeney Astray, and several previously uncollected poems. Heaney's voice is like no other--"by turns mythological and journalistic, rural and sophisticated, reminiscent and impatient, stern and yielding, curt and expansive" (Helen Vendler, The New Yorker)--and this is a one-volume testament to the musicality and precision of that voice. The book closes with Heaney's Nobel Lecture: "Crediting Poetry."

About Seamus Heaney

See more books from this Author
Seamus Heaney was born in County Derry in Northern Ireland. Death of a Naturalist, his first collection, appeared in 1966, and since then he has published poetry, criticism and translations which have established him as one of the leading poets of his generation. He has twice won the Whitbread Book of the Year, for The Spirit Level (1996) and Beowulf (1999). In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. District and Circle, his eleventh collection of poems, was published in 2006 and was awarded the T. S. Eliot Prize.
Published October 25, 1999 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux. 464 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference, Humor & Entertainment, Nature & Wildlife, Science & Math. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Opened Ground

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

For those few readers of poetry unfamiliar with the Nobel laureate's work, and for others who wish for up-to-date representative samplings from a prolific career, this new volume from Heaney will be just the ticket, perhaps the poetry stocking-stuffer of the year.

| Read Full Review of Opened Ground: Selected Poems...


See more reviews from this publication

It's time for an end-of-summer poetry treat: NPR's Tom Cole reads "Blackberry Picking," from Nobel laureate Seamus Heaney, found in Opened Ground: Selected Poems 1966-1996.

Aug 28 2005 | Read Full Review of Opened Ground: Selected Poems...

London Review of Books

Of the poems Kerrigan discusses, Heaney first breaks sonnet ground in ‘Act of Union’;

| Read Full Review of Opened Ground: Selected Poems...

Reader Rating for Opened Ground

An aggregated and normalized score based on 25 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review